Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 12:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Making a ground for a surge protector


So I recently lost a TV to a passing lightning storm. It was plugged into a surge protector but it was not properly ground.

I am renting a house that was built in the 20's so it has all 2 prong outlets. Our landlord told us that if we got little 3 prong adapters with a little tab on the bottom and screwed through that tab, it would be grounded. I got a tester and it says that it's an open ground. Actually properly rewiring isn't an option because I don't own the house.

So now I am trying to figure out some way to ground two outlets. I was told attaching the ground to the cold water pipe might be an alright temporary alternative. But when I test the voltage between the ground on the surge protector and the pipe (before wiring them together) there is a 50v difference.

It seems like this could be dangerous because the pipe would now be at 50v. It also seems odd to me that the ground prong on the surge protector is at 50v relative to a pipe in my house.

Thanks,
J
Resilient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:50 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,066
Default

Making a ground for a surge protector


Since you don't own the property the landlord would need to hire someone to properly ground this circuit or to install a new properly grounded circuit.

Grounding to the water pipe is not acceptable.

The 3 prong to 2 prong are useless for your needs and do not provide a ground.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 144
Default

Making a ground for a surge protector


Pound a ground rod into the ground and attach to that.
KHouse75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:42 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Making a ground for a surge protector


Quote:
Originally Posted by KHouse75 View Post
Pound a ground rod into the ground and attach to that.
Yeah... That's the way to do it!
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Making a ground for a surge protector


Quote:
Originally Posted by Resilient View Post
It seems like this could be dangerous because the pipe would now be at 50v.
Nah, but if you're worried about it, hook up an incand. lamp between the protector and the pipe. The 50v should drop substantially.

Do these approximate the specs on your protector?

400 v max clamping voltage
600 joules min
1 nS max response time

If you're in FL or the Ozarks in MO you may need more protection.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-13-2009 at 07:15 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Is it a hazard to plug a surge protector into an ungrounded GFI outlet? CuriousWithQuestions Electrical 7 02-01-2008 09:04 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.