Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2008, 09:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


Hi,
I have a "main panel" on the inside wall of my garage with no main circuit breaker connected through the wall to an outside box that houses the main breaker (just through the wall and below the inside box). The inside panel is wired as a main service panel (neutral bar bonded to box and ground bar connected to the neutral bar). Why is this inside panel not considered a sub-panel and wired with the neutral and ground bars separated?
Thanks! Brad

bradoflv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 10:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 410
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


Is the outside panel a panel with branch circuits, or just a box housing a single main breaker?

pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 10:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


the outside panel is strictly a main breaker, nothing else.
Thanks!
bradoflv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 10:43 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,445
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


It should be wired as sub panel.
Where does the main ground conductor enter? The main disconnect? or the panel? Normally the ground should enter the main disconnect and a four wire feeder to the panel.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 10:43 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


That should NOT be wired this way. Even though this is your service panel, there should be NO neutral bond.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 11:58 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


Agreed, it is wrong. The "point of service" is that main breaker. That's where your grounding electrode conductors should originate from, and that's where the bonding should occur. Neutrals should definately float in the interior panel, which is a sub-panel, even though it is the only panel you have.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Main vs Sub-panels


I am seeing many people using combo meter/load center enclosures. In each and every case all subsequent panels connected to this type of service panel will be considered sub panels.
I have become very fond of these type service panels as you can use lug panels inside and out. Plus they have the capability of a few breaker slots in them that can be used for anything you like. Great for pools spas, and detached structures ect....

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.