Main Subpanel Questions - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2008, 06:11 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

main subpanel questions


what a county and state i live in.... i checked with a few electricians today, and found out some very interesting info...

in my situation any electrician could have come in and replaced that panel with no permit and no inspection, the reason is because the power can be turned off from a remote location and doesnt involve having to bring in the power co to actually disconnect service (eg:meter base replacement), also its perfectly ok for an electrician in my area to replace the wires as they were, however everyone i talked to said they would have replaced the feeder with a 4 wire to meet todays code.

weird county and state...

Ratt

Advertisement

rsriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:05 PM   #32
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

main subpanel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsriverrat View Post
what a county and state i live in.... i checked with a few electricians today, and found out some very interesting info...

in my situation any electrician could have come in and replaced that panel with no permit and no inspection, the reason is because the power can be turned off from a remote location and doesnt involve having to bring in the power co to actually disconnect service (eg:meter base replacement), also its perfectly ok for an electrician in my area to replace the wires as they were, however everyone i talked to said they would have replaced the feeder with a 4 wire to meet todays code.

weird county and state...

Ratt
I think you really need to do some more homework, did you check with your state? Think about this, why even have codes if you can do whatever you want?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 10:02 PM   #33
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

main subpanel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsriverrat View Post
in my situation any electrician could have come in and replaced that panel with no permit and no inspection, the reason is because the power can be

Ratt
You were lied to or you asked the wrong questions or something.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 12:33 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

main subpanel questions


Well look at the bright side, at least that panel installation is now safe and correct because your AHJ says they don't have to come out. Hay, I got some carbon offsets to sell you...real cheap too!!

Seriously guy, listen to what you are being told. It ain't going to get more clear than this. Oppertunity for a bad situation is knocking, get off your butt and answer. i'm done.
Tankless Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 12:57 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

main subpanel questions


oh believe me, i really do understand what you guys are saying, the problem is, like many other landlords i have had in the past, will only do what NEEDS to be done now, not what HAS be done to make it right, if it were my house it would be a whole different story. but i am not gonna spend one penny of my money to make this correct and "to code", i will just get some good renters ins and the hell with it, all my priceless stuff is digital pics and are backed up in a safe spot, the hell with anything else..

and yes it irritates the hell out of me that landlords are the way they are, it irritates the hell out of me that i cant/wont beable to get this fixed to code without them getting pissed at me and kicking me out.. but its how it is these days.

Ratt

Advertisement


Last edited by rsriverrat; 11-05-2008 at 01:02 AM.
rsriverrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 03:23 PM
Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added Randell Tarin Electrical 2 04-11-2008 02:21 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
Subpanel questions wease Electrical 1 12-07-2006 02:39 PM
Add subpanel or upgrade main panel dcoz Electrical 1 01-12-2006 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts