Main Power Breaker At Service Pole Trip Continually - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2011, 12:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


I just added 2-4800W 240V heaters to my shop for the -40to-50 degree winters here. After installing the 2 30amp double pole breakers to the panel and 10/2 wiring, I turned the heaters on. The main power breaker trips at the service pole. Is it possible that this has exceeded the service breaker the power company has at the pole? Can one upgrade the service?

Advertisement

dens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Yes it is possible you tripped the breakers on the pole due to overloading, if the heaters ran for at least several seconds first.

What is the rating (amperes) of those breakers?

Immediate tripping probably means a short circuit, probably due to a mistake in your wiring.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 12:38 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


do you have these in series or parallel with the 240V feed to them and did you just try running one heater with the 240 then do the other...whats the valve of that breaker on the pole tagged for...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Yes it is possible you tripped the breakers on the pole due to overloading, if the heaters ran for at least several seconds first.

What is the rating (amperes) of those breakers?

Immediate tripping probably means a short circuit, probably due to a mistake in your wiring.
The heaters ran for 1-3 minutes before the main service breaker tripped. The shop has a 100 amp service and not sure what the amperage of the main service breaker is, as it has a power company seal on the box. The 2 double pole 30amp breakers for the heater are wired separately to different sides of the main bus.
dens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:04 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by dens1 View Post
The heaters ran for 1-3 minutes before the main service breaker tripped. The shop has a 100 amp service and not sure what the amperage of the main service breaker is, as it has a power company seal on the box. The 2 double pole 30amp breakers for the heater are wired separately to different sides of the main bus.
How did you access the main to reset it if it is sealed?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
How did you access the main to reset it if it is sealed?
The main service meter box is sealed by it has a main off/on switch/handle, which turns the main service breaker on and off inside the box.
dens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:10 PM   #7
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


is your shop fed from the same service as your house? you may not have a big enough service to add roughly 40A of electric heat
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
is your shop fed from the same service as your house? you may not have a big enough service to add roughly 40A of electric heat
Yes, the shop has it's own service panel, but the service to the property services both the house and the shop.

Can a person have a larger service put in by the power company?

Last edited by dens1; 11-25-2011 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Additional Question
dens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:17 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by dens1 View Post
Yes, the shop has it's own service panel, but the service to the property services both the house and the shop.

Can a person have a larger service put in by the power company?
Usually a power company will upgrade a service if the increased usage justifies the cost of the upgrade, otherwise they will upgrade a service for a fee.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
dens1 (11-25-2011)
Old 11-25-2011, 02:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


At this point, I guess knowing whether there is a technical issue or a service shortage issue is the key. How can I determine whether there is a power shortage, by adding the heaters or a faulty main service breaker?
dens1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:30 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Quote:
Originally Posted by dens1 View Post
At this point, I guess knowing whether there is a technical issue or a service shortage issue is the key. How can I determine whether there is a power shortage, by adding the heaters or a faulty main service breaker?
Load calculations and an amperage test may help.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


anyway 100 amp are not made for 40A of electric heating + all the others load, for that kind of laod you need at least 200amp service
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,718
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Have a walk around, and make a list of all the things
usually on that use electricity.
Add up the ampere's and see what you come up with.
2 X 4800W heaters at 240v thats 20 amps a piece
x2 = 40amps on top of what you normally use.
This could be too much for your service fuse.

The fact that it does not blow immeadiatily indicates
it is more likely an over current situation rather than a
short circuit situation.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 09:59 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,035
Rewards Points: 2,868
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


Even if you increase your service size there is a good possiblity that the power company will not upgrade their infrastructure.

Your problem is too much load on the breaker, not a supply issue by the power company.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:40 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually


If you have a clamp on ammeter you can make a quick test to see if your total power draw on either hot leg is greater than what your service is for (100 amps).

If the supply is adequate and the power company puts in a bigger service (probably your cost) for you then they will change out the pole breaker for a larger one.

If there is a supply issue then the power company will suggest that you not upgrade your panel and service. If you do that anyway then it would be for futureproofing only and you will still be limited to the old number of amperes.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-26-2011 at 07:49 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI Breaker Won't Trip with tester nate456789 Electrical 31 03-25-2011 10:46 AM
Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic johnk88 Electrical 17 03-01-2011 11:37 PM
Changing breaker in box with no main breaker jrucker Electrical 3 02-16-2010 01:46 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts