Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 01:43 PM   #46
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Share |
Default

main panel upgrade cost


I upgraded my service from 100A to 200A in 2009. Similar story to yours - it was an old, 100A, overstuffed panel. Whether or not your price is a good deal (or bad deal) depends on your area and other work involved, but I spent a similar amount and think the price seems reasonable.

I've been rewiring much of my home over the past few years, and I'm glad I jumped to 200A (which is what my Realtor recommended as well). Not because I needed 200A (I doubt I ever draw more than 100A), but because I've added at least half a dozen circuits since then to meet modern code requirements. So the extra space in the panel has been the biggest benefit. And the 200A is there if I need it.

RST

RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:52 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 106
Default

main panel upgrade cost


My panel is overstuffed as well.

I calculated my max electrical load based on the 2002 NEC code:

General Light and Receptacle Load
1536sqft x 3VA = 4608VA
Small Appliance Circuits Load
2 x 1500VA = 3000VA
Laundry Branch Circuit(s) Load
1 x 1500VA = 1500VA
Total General Load Less Demand
sum of above less T220.11 demand
sum of above = 9108VA
first 3000 at 100 % = 3000
next 117,000 at 35% = 2138
remainder at 25% = 0
sum less demand = 5138VA
Fastened In Place Appliances Load
disposal = 720VA
dish washer = 912VA
fridge = 540VA
microwave = 1000VA
attic fan = 420VA
TV = 675VA
washing machine = 1200VA
sum less 75% demand = 4100VA
Clothes Dryer Circuit(s)Load
Total dryer circuit(s) load = 5600VA
Cooking Appliance(s) Load
T220.19 Column A = 0kVA
T220.19 Column B = 0kVA
T220.19 Column C = 0kVA
Total calc.d range load = 0kVA (gas range)
Heating or Air-Conditioning Load
Air Conditioner = 4296VA
Largest Motor Load
25% of largest motor = 0.25VA
Total Computed Load
19134.25 Volt-Amps
Computed Amperage
19134.25 divided by 240 = 80Amps

____________________________________

So I can potentially be at 80A right now. In the future i want to re-do my basement, which will add to the load, esp since I'd probably add electric baseboard.

Does code state that you cannot load your panel to 100% of capacity?

debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
main panel upgrade? cowboy dan Electrical 4 02-16-2011 07:02 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM
Can I upgrade my main panel? MarkinTexas Electrical 8 01-22-2009 10:15 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.