Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2008, 09:40 AM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Sounds good. Let us know how it comes out.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 06:35 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Apparently 42 space/slot, does this make sense !!!
Invisible-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:40 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible-Man View Post
Apparently 42 space/slot, does this make sense !!!
It might. Most of the Sq D panels I install in houses are QO 40/40. But I do believe they make a 42/42. They also make a 20/40 and a 30/40. The first number is the actual full size spaces. The second number is the maximum number of circuits using the half size breakers.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 05:45 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
It might. Most of the Sq D panels I install in houses are QO 40/40. But I do believe they make a 42/42. They also make a 20/40 and a 30/40. The first number is the actual full size spaces. The second number is the maximum number of circuits using the half size breakers.
Thanks John, will let you know how it goes, might not be for a little while.
Invisible-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 05:20 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


How do I cover an outside electrical conduit with vinyl siding?
manfredneumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 05:51 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,826
Rewards Points: 2,450
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by manfredneumann View Post
How do I cover an outside electrical conduit with vinyl siding?
It would have been better to start a new thread. As far as covering the mast with siding, the answer is you don't. Unfused conductors before the meter must remain outside the house .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:24 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 285
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Main Panel Upgrade


Jim Port is right. I have seen people run J channel along side the mast and then caulk it though. I've also seen people (not the electricians) paint the mast the same color as the siding to make it less noticeable.
Old thread btw...

petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM
Add subpanel or upgrade main panel dcoz Electrical 1 01-12-2006 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.