Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2011, 10:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


I recently had a handyman install a new main service panel. The electrical work looks good. The panel is surface-mounted, but he only filled the stucco to the edge of the panel and caulked around it.

While it is sealed for now, I am concerned that a leak anywhere along the edge will allow water inside of the wall and onto the wires. This is an area of the house that gets rained on directly.

My questions are: Is this up to code (San Jose, CA)? And is this a reasonable/good job?

krewekomedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


Handyman? Hopefully he did a good job and you have the final inspection report in hand.
He did pull the required permits and had the job inspected? If not, you are possibly in hot water with your city or county.

Surface mount panels are mounted to the stucco. On the exterior wall. There is rarely a reason to patch anything. Are you sure you meant surface mount. Surface mount NEMA 3R panels are rain resistant if installed correctly. They require no caulking or patching of any sort. No conduits leaving the top unless there is a hub.
Take a picture of your concerns and post them.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
krewekomedi (08-19-2011)
Old 08-19-2011, 04:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


Unfortunately I can't pull permits since there are other expensive things wrong with the property that they would require me to change. Sometimes laws meant to protect us have the opposite effect.

The original panel was half inset into the wall (and done very badly), so he left that hole. The answer I'm inferring from you is that surface mount should have an exterior wall behind it.

To be clear: I'm not concerned about the panel, I'm concerned about water seeping into the wall around the edges of the panel since there is no wall behind it. Is this a code violation or bad practice?

Unfortunately, I'm not there, so I can't sent a picture and there wouldn't be much to see.
krewekomedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 04:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


Electric panels recessed into Stucco walls are common here in SoCol - mine is that way.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


It isn't recessed, the original panel was recessed and the new one is not recessed, but the hole behind the panel is still there. The edges are sealed, but I am concerned that a crack in the stucco will allow water into the wall.
krewekomedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 10:49 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Main panel - is it up to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by krewekomedi View Post
It isn't recessed, the original panel was recessed and the new one is not recessed, but the hole behind the panel is still there. The edges are sealed, but I am concerned that a crack in the stucco will allow water into the wall.
Doesn't sound like an electrical issue, but it is a general construction issue. I would not be satisfied with that installation. No matter how good the caulking is now, it will eventually leak into the wall. The stucco should have been patched completely before the new panel was installed over it.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (08-20-2011)
Reply

Tags
installation, main panel, quality, service panel


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Two sub panels off of main panel OK? brjl Electrical 4 05-29-2011 01:33 PM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 07:12 PM
gfci in main feeding sub panel problem scott2332 Electrical 12 02-25-2009 11:17 PM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.