Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 12:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


Hello,

I'm upgrading the electrical in my attached barn.

I picked up a used GE 100A service panel with a 100A main breaker. I'm going to have a matching breaker in the main 200A panel feeding this.

I forgot that there are actual sub panels, as well as service panels when I bought this. I believe I need another bar in the panel for grounds. There are two, one on each side, with a large connecting bar between them.

I don't fully understand the difference between the panel types.

Should I proceed with this panel and try to locate a smaller bar to attach to the back side, or should I purchase an actual subpanel?

If I switched to a sub panel with lugs, I'd need another panel for a cut off switch, which I do want out there.

tbeaulieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


I'd pick up another bar to use as a ground bar
No need to buy another panel

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:18 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


Or disconnect the bar connecting them.

The difference between a main and sub is that in a sub, the ground bar and neutral can NOT be connected. In a main panel, they are connected.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


Thanks guys. I had to call several supply stores before I found someone offering to get me a ground bar. 24 hole bar for $8 - will have it tomorrow.

I thought about separating the two, but I suspect I'll want to have all those for neutrals.
tbeaulieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:44 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


If you want to use the two existing bars as your neutral, make sure you remove the bonding strap that connects one of the two bars to the case of the panel. Your new ground bar will be connected to the panel, so your neutrals must not be.

Test for (lack of) continuity between your ground bars and neutral with a continuity tester if you want to be sure. This can be done before wiring the panel.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Main panel or sub panel?


Right! Good point!

tbeaulieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel tpagel Electrical 14 07-17-2009 07:50 PM
gfci in main feeding sub panel problem scott2332 Electrical 12 02-26-2009 12:17 AM
main breaker panel terminology question! jeffjohnson1 Electrical 3 09-30-2008 09:04 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.