Main Panel To Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2011, 07:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


I am helping a friend wire his house. He has a 40 circuit breaker box and after the HVAC guy puts his 8 breakers in (I still can't believe he needs that many. I only have 3 in my house for HVAC), we will have a full box. The contractor told him to put a 100A breaker and run a wire to a subpanel he needs to mount right next to the main.

If we put another that new breaker in, we will have to move 2 of those circuits to the new subpanel. My question is what are your experiences with subpanels. Do we really need a 100A subpanel and what kind of breaker actually goes in that new subpanel box? Could we just do a 60A?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Advertisement

vibbertations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:48 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


The load requirment of the subpanel dictates the size of breaker needed to feed it.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:10 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


Currently, the only two circuits that will be in the box at rough in will be two 15A light circuits but I think there are plans to have a woodshed in a couple years that would need a light and a receptacle.

I am just looking for your thoughts on what you would do.
vibbertations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:29 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


If that is it, then I would go with #6 wire and a 60 amp breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
vibbertations (08-25-2011)
Old 08-25-2011, 10:12 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


6 gauge between the boxes then a 60 amp breaker in both boxes?
vibbertations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:30 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,032
Rewards Points: 2,862
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


You don't need a main breaker in the subpanel in an attached structure.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
vibbertations (08-25-2011)
Old 08-25-2011, 12:19 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Main Panel to Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You don't need a main breaker in the subpanel in an attached structure.
Do a search on subpanels. This topic has been explained MANY times on these boards, you will definitely find lots of good info.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Main panel or sub panel? tbeaulieu Electrical 5 04-07-2010 12:58 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
gfci in main feeding sub panel problem scott2332 Electrical 12 02-26-2009 12:17 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts