Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 08:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Share |
Question

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


I've got a full slate of 30 full size breakers in my 42 circuit QO Square D panel. I want to convert some to tandem breakers so I can add 4 new circuits from a remodeled bathroom. Do I have the same number of amperage/breaker values on each bus?

WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:34 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Not important in a residential setting. The value of the breaker means nothing. It is the load that is connected. So unless you have some permanent heavy loads like heaters that might be running together don't be concerned.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Sfeyelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


You do not have to be concerned with the value of the breakers only the actually load being used.
Sfeyelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Thanks for the info. That's what I had hoped to hear.
WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 04:51 PM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


if you have a 42 circuit panel it is almost certainly not allowed to have tandem breakers
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:29 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
if you have a 42 circuit panel it is almost certainly not allowed to have tandem breakers
X2. You are not allowed tandems in that panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Why do they make tandems for it then?
WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:16 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,369
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodmanFL View Post
Why do they make tandems for it then?
Breaker panels made by the same manufacturer use common breakers. A 20/40 panel made by the same manufacturer will use the same breakers including tandems.They just happen to fit in the panel you have.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 07:29 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


If you only have 30 full size breakers in a panel that will hold 40 there should be no need for tandems.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:55 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Been gone for a little while. Attached are some shots of what I've got. Any ideas on how I can add 4 new circuits? If removing a couple full size breakers and adding tandem breakers will work on this panel, let me know.

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?-forumrunner_20111201_094853.jpg



Name:  ForumRunner_20111201_094917.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  23.3 KB



Name:  ForumRunner_20111201_094939.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  19.0 KB
WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:21 AM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,533
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


You can run tandems in the bottom 5 spaces (each side) to gain 10 more circuits. You need to move the lower 240V breaker on the left side to maximize the spaces for tandems.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 04:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Do the tandems need to go only in the bottom spaces or can I combine some circuits into tandems in the top?
WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 04:10 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodmanFL View Post
Do the tandems need to go only in the bottom spaces or can I combine some circuits into tandems in the top?
Only the bottom 5 slots.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Main panel breakers, balanced loading?


Thanks for all the help. Tandems are in and everything is working fine.

WoodmanFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker panel, breakers, circuit breakers, main panel, tandem breaker


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 07:12 PM
Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers avery2008 Electrical 8 05-02-2009 02:51 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 07:26 PM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.