Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 11:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

main panel


I need to upgrade my main panel. If i have a 100amp main breaker outside can i put a 200amp panel in or do i need to change the 100amp to a 200amp outside?

eternalchild1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:28 PM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Default

main panel


I believe you may need to have the wire coming to the house changed to support a 200 amp service.
Call your local power company they will tell you if your current feed can handle the upgrade.


Last edited by sublime2; 03-28-2012 at 11:34 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:45 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

main panel


It would probably be best to post a couple pics of what is existing. Something like what you are proposing most likely will involve more than swapping out breakers.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:05 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

main panel


Just calling power company can sometimes be confusing to a homeowner. They don't always have a good record. Having an electrician personally checking out the service is preferred way. But sometimes a picture will help.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:05 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

main panel


Do you just need the 200 for breaker spaces?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:21 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

main panel


Posting pictures of you outdoor panel may be helpful if you have a main disconnect outside you may have more than 100 amps available. to feed a larger panel with more space.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:29 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

main panel


You can install the 200 amp panel. You will still have a 100 amp service however. The 100 amp breaker outside is the one that determines your service size and the cables required.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Electric Panel Help Redrum Ninja Electrical 13 10-22-2011 07:28 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Main panel or sub panel? tbeaulieu Electrical 5 04-07-2010 11:58 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.