Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 08:02 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Share |
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Your photo shows one of the old style QO20M100 panels, with the old-style Q1-top feed breaker.

IF you turn that main breaker off, and there still is power available on one or more of the branch circuits, then the main breaker could be bad.

Replacing the panel is your best option here, since that would be cheaper than finding a replacement Q1-top feed breaker.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-22-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 08:04 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Have you tested both incoming hots on the load side,
with the main switch off, to see if it really is completely off !
Could be a faulty switch !

Tell us more about your property ?
House / unit / rural property ?
Any neighbours?, how close ?
Maybe it is sourced unknowingly from elsewhere !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-22-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 08:46 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sounds like you bought the Homeline panel instead of the QO. The breakers are not interchangeable and you will need new breakers also. If you buy a QO panel you can reuse the breakers.
I'm pretty sure I got the QO, lemme go check the truck.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:50 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UF0Y1K4nCXU

Square D by Schneider Electric QO 100 Amp 20-Space 20-Circuit Indoor Main Breaker Load Center with Cover



OH, IC it is a Copper Bus. Is that why you questioned it, Jim? Do QOs generally have a copper bus?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:52 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Argh, bet I gotta get a ground bar kit for it.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:51 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,248
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


You need professional help .
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 11:12 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UF0Y1K4nCXU

Square D by Schneider Electric QO 100 Amp 20-Space 20-Circuit Indoor Main Breaker Load Center with Cover



OH, IC it is a Copper Bus. Is that why you questioned it, Jim? Do QOs generally have a copper bus?
Yes, they generally do. But some of the smaller panels have aluminum bus, such as the MLO QO612L100
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-22-2012)
Old 09-22-2012, 06:32 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
You need professional help .
Yes, but that's for another thread
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:35 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Main OFF, Power Still Available in Three Rooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by allthumbsdiy View Post
is it still a common practice to have a separate panel for wells?
Nationwide, I have no idea!

Local codes/rules can be different.

Also there is the requirement for an "in sight disconnect" or "lockout/tagout". That is for the safety of persons servicing electrical equipment. So OSHA (worker safety) rules may apply in certain situations too.

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar at the cottage? Tito1800 Home Theater 2 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
building a main and sub panels for 2 remote buildings n175h Electrical 30 12-20-2011 02:09 PM
Power in rooms goes on and off by itself. 68 Fastback Electrical 6 10-16-2011 08:31 AM
power to "half" the house dogvila Electrical 8 07-13-2010 09:04 PM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 03:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.