Main Lug Between Main Panel And Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 09:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Is this better than splicing?

Advertisement

MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterSteve
Is this better than splicing?
On sunday afternoons

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
On sunday afternoons
I'll do it any afternoon if it is up to code. Does it need to have a main breaker pull on it?
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterSteve

I'll do it any afternoon if it is up to code. Does it need to have a main breaker pull on it?
My post was sarcastic because honestly I have no clue what you are asking. How about you start over and explain what you are doing and what you want to know.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
My post was sarcastic because honestly I have no clue what you are asking. How about you start over and explain what you are doing and what you want to know.
Well, I am trying to get power to my detached garage about 80' away from my main panel. There is a piece of #2 AL SE-R in my crawl space fed from a 100 amp breaker in the main. Rather than tearing up the walls to get a full run to the garage, I would like to connect to this SE-R, which is what it was intended for. It is long enough to feed outside to the wall into a panel or junction box. So, my question is, can I use an outdoor main lug as a "junction"???

Last edited by MisterSteve; 02-22-2012 at 10:44 PM.
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:50 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Still a little confusing, generally when we use the term main lug in residential we are talking about a main lug panel. So is that what your suggesting ? Or are you just meaning some kind of JB that has distribution lugs in it so that the splicing will be better and much more professional looking than say split bolts or big wire nuts.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:57 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


I think what he is talking about is an outdoor rated 100amp disconnect box with a 100 amp breaker and just using that for splicing instead of a junction box and splices.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Hi Stubbie,

Thanks for the inquiry! You seem to be paying some attention to my posts and probably are just as confused as i am at this point. I picked up an outdoor main lug for my "junction" instead of a junction box for various reasons but mainly convenience. To better clarify this is how I am planning to get my garage powered- 200amp main in house with 100amp breaker on #2 SE-R to 100amp outdoor main lug on the other side of the same wall, #2 USE-2 from main lug to 100 amp sub panel in garage. I am wondering if the lug is supposed to have a main breaker on it or not to be up to code???
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I think what he is talking about is an outdoor rated 100amp disconnect box with a 100 amp breaker and just using that for splicing instead of a junction box and splices.

That's what I'm thinking I should have bought.

I bought a main lug and 70 amp 2 pole as the "main" breaker in it.

I will have the garage line connected to the 70 amp 2 pole in the lug so isnt that the same as a main anyways?
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:07 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Can you post a picture of what you bought?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:09 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Can you post a picture of what you bought?
heres a link.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...&storeId=10051
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:14 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Will you be putting this in your crawl space or outside?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:15 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Will you be putting this in your crawl space or outside?
Outside.
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


I just remember the man at the permit office telling me that if i have more than 6 circuits then the box needs a main breaker in it. But if the lug can't have more than 6 circuits then IT does not need a main breaker, right? But it is between a main panel and a sub.....so now I'm confused. Again. The reason I chose this lug box was because I thought maybe Ill add a circuit or two for some deck lighting or something someday.
MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:25 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Main Lug between main panel and sub panel


As long as the inspector will allow it and it can support a 70 amp branch breaker it sounds like a decent idea.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts