Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 10:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Main Load center Size


I have a FEP panel i want to remove it is 200A Now do i need such a sought box? here is whats in it now

BREAKER SIZE




40 DUAL Range
30 DUAL Garage Branch
30 DUAL Water heater
30 Dual Dryer
30 Dual AC
4 15's Rooms
4 20's Kitchen Furnace B-Room Decanted A/V PC

is 200 way over kill is there a load pannel calculator?

Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:58 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


from what you have posted, yes it is overkill but in todays world, if you are already changing out the panel, I woud go ahead and toss in the 200 just for future use.

you can usually find load calculators online by serching for load calculators or residential load calculators.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


with i listed what is the best.. i may add 2 more 20's thats it.. 3 bedroom single floor house
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:39 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


with the breaker count, your panel is going to be just about full.


any chance youhave a garage? any chance you are going to build one? Wait a minute. why do yo uhave a 30 amp 2 pole going to the garage? With that, it would HAVE to be a specialty receptacle. What recep power do you have out there?

Hot tub?

basement game room?

lots of christmas lights?

The price is not that great different for the 200 . Yo uare not going to be limited by the breaker count like you would with a 100.

Without doing a calc, you could probably get away with the 100 but the wiser move is simply to go to the 200 while you are changing the panel out anyway.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


garage is nothing fancy maybe Table saw and a air comp. no goodies lol and I'm hoping to move in a year or so.. i want everything to be safe i don't want to sell a house with stab lock fire hazard system. i may look for a 125- 200 panel a square D QO system. if it was a keeper 200A and id run a larger garage run but it's not I love over kill Are load centers ok to buy used?
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 05:47 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


Since you have 200A now there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to not put a 200 back in.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 08:12 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


Since you are only changing the panel the difference in cost between a 100 and a 200 amp is not worth even considering going down in size.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 11:05 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


true i ground a new one online 200A and a few breakers Square D for 175.

Any body got any ideas how much to replace a panel?

16 circuits total .. Can i have it done by friend (he has done this kinda stuff before just not certified.) and have a certified Electrician sign off on it?

Sorry for the stupid questions i just know how to wire and learning the codes as i go.
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 11:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


The freight on the online purchase is the killer. The price sounds good if it a "QO" panel and not a "Homeline" panel. But shipping will offset any savings, trust me. No more free freight.
Just go to HD, Lowes or an electrical supply house. They will have what you need. Square D is a very good panel, but you could go with another brand if you want to save some money. I have a GE in my house and it's just fine. $125.00 if I remember correctly.

Stay with 200 amp with 40 spaces. Since you plan to sell soon, I see no down side as the new owner may have big plans for your house.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 12:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


A guy on line quited me

Square D QO 200 Amp 40 Circuit Indoor Panel

QO140M200 WITH QOC40UF

1 40A DUAL
4 30A Dual
4 15's
5 20's

195 Shipped for it all

Sounds good?

Am i required to have it inspected and signed off on? Delaware not in the city
Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:10 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Since you have 200A now there is ABSOLUTELY no reason to not put a 200 back in.
I didn't even catch that. I don;t hear very many folks wanting to go down in size so it just didn;t jump out and whack me.


since you have wiring for a 200 amp, put a 200 amp back in. It is a selling point when it comes time to sell the place.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 10:10 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Main Load center Size


So far locally the best price i got was 400 Total Panel and breakers
So i may just get it online

Evnldr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added Randell Tarin Electrical 2 04-11-2008 01:21 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM
Load Center dwayne Electrical 4 07-09-2006 01:02 PM
100A load center run Littlefatdog Electrical 12 06-15-2006 02:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.