Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2009, 08:59 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Main Breaker is tripping


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdmccaw View Post
It doesn't always trip when the furnace turns on, but that seems to be the one thing that draws enough current to put it over it's limit...

Here are pictures, forget it, don't know how to add pictures...

Anyway, yea, not something I can do... had a look.... not plug and play!!!! looks to me that dabbling around in there is a good way to get yourself killed!
Right. Better leave this one to the pros.

If you want to post a photo, first, get an account (free) with any online photo site that allows you to upload jpg, etc.
I use photobucket.com.
Then, once your photos are on the site, you use the direct link (will look something like this: http://i425.photobucket.com/albums/p...wsignalgan.jpg

Copy the link from the photo site, then paste it into the dialog when you press the "insert image" button on the top of the reply window It's the button with the mountains in the distance.

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:44 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Main Breaker is tripping


This all leads down to a bad breaker. I would have an electrician replace it.

Please post pictures of the panel if you can.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 11:26 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Main Breaker is tripping


.....

Last edited by theatretch85; 02-05-2009 at 11:33 PM.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 11:27 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Main Breaker is tripping


I would say the main breaker is going bad as well. Definitely not a DIY project by any means; leave this to the pro's. Google "Arc Flash" and you will see what I mean.

I have popped the main breaker (100 amp service) at my house a few times, back when I had my holiday light display going (approx 115 amp draw) and I invited some friends over for some gaming. One night when it popped it was still so hot (even outside in the garage) that I needed the air compressor to cool the breaker down. It would not reset (and yes I turned off the sub panel to the lights first). It still took a good 30 seconds to a full minute with the air compressor before it would reset. Luckily the air compressor had a full tank and sits right next to the main panel out in the garage.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad main breaker? jm8891 Electrical 13 11-09-2013 10:32 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Main house breaker keeps tripping cosmicmah Electrical 20 01-22-2008 01:36 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.