Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 11:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


hi.

i am a new member. i had a main breaker trip and had a hard time to reset it. so i went put in a new one. it seem to be holding. the house had a couple space heaters 110 volts that was on at the time.
i ask a elect. why it trip ,he couldn't tell with out seeing it. i could understand that.
so he gave me two things reasons that could cause it.

[a] the heaters could be all on same phase, causeing unblanced load.
i understand the unblanced load, but if you 100 amp panel with 3 heaters at only 110 volts and nothing eles on. ain't those heaters drawing well below the rating of the main breaker

[b] he check the ground to the water line.

stumps .02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


What is the rating of the heaters ?
What other electric load is there ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:09 PM   #3
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,173
Rewards Points: 26
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


Scuba,

This post is on the "Introductions Page".

Why wouldn't you (as a Moderator) move it to the "Electrical Page" where it would have proper exposure to those in the know?

Few will even notice it here.
__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


Ah...Thanks
I just answered it as a new post....did not realize where it was
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:43 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stumps .02 View Post
hi.

i am a new member. i had a main breaker trip and had a hard time to reset it. so i went put in a new one.
You replaced the Main Breaker? Did you pull the meter to remove power? I think we need a little more information to work with.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:55 PM   #6
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
You replaced the Main Breaker? Did you pull the meter to remove power? I think we need a little more information to work with.
It seems you might not know exactly what you are doing. Im guessing you dont know the danger you put yourself into or are a thrill seeker.

A "Main Breaker" Doesnt just "trip" arbitrarily unless it is defective. Generally space heaters use about 1500 watts each or 12.5 amps. This is about the 80% load rule on breakers.

What Im trying to understand is that if you replaced the 100 amp service disconnect or a branch breaker. If you have 3 heaters on one breaker it WILL trip it.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 01:21 PM   #7
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 0
Default

a main breaker trip nain 100 amp panel


All I can say is YIKES!!!!!

Step away from the edge before you fall!!!

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper grounding of meter main to breaker panel tns1 Electrical 3 09-08-2009 09:24 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Main breaker panel redline Electrical 1 03-19-2006 08:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.