Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2007, 09:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


Building a cottage up north. This last week they "energized" my new meter pedestal and 200 service panel. I did the wiring. When I got up there this weekend, I was excited to see the meter in, and I went to the service panel to turn on the main breaker....and it won't stay on! I switch it all the way to off....the try to keep it on "on", but it won't stay.

Short??? I pulled all of the breakers out....still won't stay "on". I checked the two hot wires going in the middle, and each had power. I didn't have meter/tester with me. I simply ran a wire from each of the plugs to a simple light. When I put on wire on the one of the hot's going in and the other on the ground, the light lit. Same when I did it to the other power line coming in.
I wonder if a main breaker can be DOA (dead on arrival). Everything seems ok.... ground and nutreal on same post...and neither = hot. Only the two wires that should be hot are.

fauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 10:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


Absolutley you could have a defective breaker. I get defective light bulbs all the time. Nothing is certain. Replace it. Do not try to hold it on. It could blow up in your face (not likely), but possible.
Did the service panel pass inspection? Since you removed all the branch circuits, it sure sounds like a bad breaker to me.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:30 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


no official inspection. rurual area, brother in law is good and looked at it, said I had it all right. I know the basics, and the power wires to the screws on the bottom of that breaker is pretty hard to screw up.

and got the ground and neutral together to that side neutral bar
fauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


I called the electric company engineer and he agreed thinking it was defective breaker or panel. They'll double check their wiring and then pull the meter till I call back for a re-energize. I will buy and install a new panel and main this weekend ("Square D" this time!). I don't want to screw with it for less than $200. I will take panel back to the store and try to get my $$ back too!

Oddly, I have two electric service drops on my lot, and two meters.
I had electric on my lot at another location before installing the new base / panel and having the power brought in underground from another pole. Luckily they did not pull the other meter yet, so I get one bill....with charges for two meters. It's a small charge and I am glad for the spare electric now! Don't like running those LONG extension cords...but that's temporary.

Thanks
Frank
fauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 03:08 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


I wish I had 2 services. Or maybe just one...480 with a transformer in the laundry room for the 120V/208V loads. That would be sweet.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 12:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Main Breaker DOA?


YES THE SERVICE PANEL / MAIN BREAKER WERE DEFECTIVE I had them pull out the meter the week after instal, pulled the service panel and replaced it with the Square D replacement. It works great, no problem. The main breaker never would stay on the CH. I did like the CH design and I know all manufactures create DOA pieces, but wish it wasn't me!

fauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-line fuses used on GE 200amp panel instead of main breaker diyforum Electrical 4 11-07-2007 07:08 PM
Main disconnect breaker coyote556 Electrical 9 08-01-2007 04:52 AM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM
Main Breaker panel question stagger19 Electrical 5 08-15-2006 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.