Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 11:36 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
That's not a reset button, it's a test button. That's why it doesn't say "reset", it says "push to trip". Frankly, you have no business working in the panel and it's scary that you're attempting any troubleshooting on it at all - especially doing voltage measurements with a meter with the panel cover off. You are not qualified to do this work safely. I think you have no idea what a 480V arc flash accident looks like. One slip with a screwdriver or multimeter probe, or a minor failure inside the meter (is it a CAT III rated meter???) will blind you and burn you, or worse.
Poulton,

I tested the power at the outlet, not at the source sir. I have not touched anything on the panel, other than to flip the switch and press the test button on the circuit breaker.

jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jamesthames For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-10-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 11:38 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Where does the breaker get its power from?

Is it mounted in a panel, or in a separate enclosure?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:44 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Where does the breaker get its power from?

The picture showed a stand-alone breaker, with line and load lugs ....
The photo was just to identify the breaker boss. the breaker is hooked up to a triphase panel that can run up to 499 V as per the electrician. There's three huge copper bars behind the panel. The breaker is one of 3 on the panel right now. the wire feeds into the circuit breaker, which then feeds a primary disconnect. So the circuit breaker gets its power from the panel.
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:47 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


You got juice at the primary disconnect?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:53 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You got juice at the primary disconnect?
the honest answer is I don't know, because I am afraid to run the voltmeter off the panel. But at the outlet there is no power, so I assume the problem comes from the origin, not at any point in between. And just to be sure, i turned all the disconnects off and on, there are no problems with the disconnects. so I have assumed that there is no power running from the panel, which means either it's the circuit breaker, or the panel. What I hope is that it's just a simple reset issue for the circuit breaker. But my fear is that the circuit breaker is burnt or something, and needs to be replaced.
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:52 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Where does the breaker get its power from?

Is it mounted in a panel, or in a separate enclosure?
It's mounted in a panel, it gets its power from the panel
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:43 AM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesthames View Post
the honest answer is I don't know, because I am afraid to run the voltmeter off the panel. But at the outlet there is no power, so I assume the problem comes from the origin, not at any point in between. And just to be sure, i turned all the disconnects off and on, there are no problems with the disconnects. so I have assumed that there is no power running from the panel, which means either it's the circuit breaker, or the panel. What I hope is that it's just a simple reset issue for the circuit breaker. But my fear is that the circuit breaker is burnt or something, and needs to be replaced.
Too many assumptions and hopes here..

Working on 480 Volt systems is not a DIY project, with serious injury and/or death being possible. Much more possible than working with something like 120 Volts, as would be commonly found in a dwelling.

Best thing at this point is to call a qualified electrician who has the proper personal protection and testing equipment.

Those 480 Volt breakers are not cheap, and playing assumption and hit-or-miss can quickly add up to greater costs that one realizes ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-10-2012), jbfan (10-10-2012), Kapriel (10-10-2012), Oso954 (10-10-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 07:06 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Too many assumptions and hopes here..

Working on 480 Volt systems is not a DIY project, with serious injury and/or death being possible. Much more possible than working with something like 120 Volts, as would be commonly found in a dwelling.

Best thing at this point is to call a qualified electrician who has the proper personal protection and testing equipment.

Those 480 Volt breakers are not cheap, and playing assumption and hit-or-miss can quickly add up to greater costs that one realizes ...
KB, thanks for the good advice. I did have a certified electrician come check it, it simply wasn't reset properly. Now it's all ok. Thanks to everyone who replied to this thread, you guys are the best
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jamesthames For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-10-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 07:17 PM   #24
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesthames View Post
KB, thanks for the good advice. I did have a certified electrician come check it, it simply wasn't reset properly. Now it's all ok. Thanks to everyone who replied to this thread, you guys are the best
Thanks for getting back to us with the results.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-10-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 07:23 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Missouri Bound I believe called this many posts back.

Very simple.

Congratulations MB !

Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kapriel For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-10-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 07:23 AM
ROMEX 14-2 wire from Canada Vs. ROMEX 14-2 wire from the U.S. Dazzlin Electrical 14 06-04-2010 07:51 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Wiring help three wire to two wire install israelsoto99 Electrical 1 06-28-2009 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.