Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


I got a machine running 480V on 26 amps (we can round off to 30 for the sake of this discussion). Machine got stuck while running, so the amperage went up, and then the 30 amp circuit breaker tripped. I reset the circuit breaker, but now there is no voltage going to the machine. The circuit breaker still flips on and off. I was advised on another forum most likely the CB needs to be replaced. Does anybody know if the CB will always burn out when the amps spike? Do I need to get a fused disconnect? Thanks in advance for your replies

jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Not a DIY repair. You need to get licensed electricain.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-09-2012), gregzoll (10-09-2012), jamesthames (10-09-2012), jbfan (10-09-2012), Kapriel (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Rjniles is right.

CB might be bad, but the line rails where breaker gets it's power could be erroded to the point that it will not work even with a new breaker.

You really should get an electrician.
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Although I agree with the others about getting a licensed electrician, have you tried resetting the breaker a few times? Turning it off completely and resetting it? That wasn't an insult but believe it or not some people do not know how to properly reset a breaker. I would try it a few times at least.
Also I was wondering.....how do you know there is no voltage to the machine? Did you use a tester? Does it "just not run" and you assume it's a voltage problem? I'll assume it has a starter of sorts...does the starter have overload protection; does the machine have any internal fuses or resets? There are a lot of variables here. And once again I agree with the other posters: If this is beyond your ability safety is a huge issue and you need a professional.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Although I agree with the others about getting a licensed electrician, have you tried resetting the breaker a few times? Turning it off completely and resetting it? That wasn't an insult but believe it or not some people do not know how to properly reset a breaker. I would try it a few times at least.
Also I was wondering.....how do you know there is no voltage to the machine? Did you use a tester? Does it "just not run" and you assume it's a voltage problem? I'll assume it has a starter of sorts...does the starter have overload protection; does the machine have any internal fuses or resets? There are a lot of variables here. And once again I agree with the other posters: If this is beyond your ability safety is a huge issue and you need a professional.
Missouri,

Thanks for your reply. I used a voltmeter sir. I did press the reset button on the breaker, but to no avail. How do you properly reset a breaker? I assumed you press the reset button when it's in the off position, let me know if otherwise. It has nothing to do with the machine, because we can't even get power to the machine. At least if there was power in the outlet the machine hooks up to, I would then be worried about the machine. I know this because I also used the voltmeter on the outlet, also no power.
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


A reset button? Perhaps I am not familiar with the type of breaker you have. The breakers I refer to have a "switch" for lack of a better term which you turn completely off and then back on. Any chance you could post some pictures of this breaker?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Just a thought......

I would be very careful working in a 480 Volt 3phase panel unless you are fully qualified to do so.

It has the power & potential to kill.
Kapriel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Kapriel For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-09-2012), Missouri Bound (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 07:51 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Missouri,

I could take a photo tomorrow. It's a Siemens triphase 480v 30 amp breaker with three screws (one screw for each wire of the triphase connection). It's got the lever that you flip on and off, and in the middle there is a tiny little reset button.
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


OK...so you flipped the lever and pushed the reset button....right? Isn't that button to test the breaker rather than reset it? All you should have to do is turn the lever completely off, then back on. If that does not restore power then call the electrician. I would be very surprised if the breaker was bad.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 10-09-2012 at 07:59 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 08:19 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Missouri,

Yes boss, I think the breaker is ok too, I think it's something else. And to be honest, I think it's something small and stupid. I am going to look more carefully at the breaker tomorrow to see if there's any other switches, but I only saw the little reset button.
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,949
Rewards Points: 3,014
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


http://www.ebay.com/itm/Siemens-Sent...item1e6636673c

Look like this?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-09-2012), rjniles (10-10-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 09:03 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Joe, it looks like 100% match
jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:48 PM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


That's not a reset button, it's a test button. That's why it doesn't say "reset", it says "push to trip". Frankly, you have no business working in the panel and it's scary that you're attempting any troubleshooting on it at all - especially doing voltage measurements with a meter with the panel cover off. You are not qualified to do this work safely. I think you have no idea what a 480V arc flash accident looks like. One slip with a screwdriver or multimeter probe, or a minor failure inside the meter (is it a CAT III rated meter???) will blind you and burn you, or worse.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
jamesthames (10-09-2012), Kapriel (10-10-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 11:27 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Did you press the reset button on the machine? Motor starter controls all have them ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
J. V. (10-11-2012), jamesthames (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 11:35 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Machine Install 480v #8 wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Did you press the reset button on the machine? Motor starter controls all have them ...
KB, there is no power running to the machine right now.

jamesthames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 07:23 AM
ROMEX 14-2 wire from Canada Vs. ROMEX 14-2 wire from the U.S. Dazzlin Electrical 14 06-04-2010 07:51 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Wiring help three wire to two wire install israelsoto99 Electrical 1 06-28-2009 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.