Lutron Maestro IR Dimmers Multiple If Possible???? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 09:09 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Quote:
But does the harmony one already have built in commands? Also, can the dimmers act independently with one another? Turn one off while not affecting others?
I am not familiar with the built-in commands of the Harmony One. I understand some harmony remotes come with (or can be configured with) X-10 commands, which might be well suited for your needs.

The point being, the IRLinc does not care which buttons or commands you use. It simply learns whatever command you selected, whether volume, power, channels, or any other. It is up to you to decide which you want to use.

Is the Harmony One an "activity" based remote, like most Harmonys? Can you create a "lighting" activity? What was your intention?

Yes, the dimmers can act independently, if that is what you wish.

Advertisement

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:15 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post
Is the Harmony One an "activity" based remote, like most Harmonys? Can you create a "lighting" activity? What was your intention?
Yes the Harmony One is an activity based remote, so with what you said, I think I should be able to make the lights adjust according to the activity.
penti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:12 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Quote:
Yes the Harmony One is an activity based remote, so with what you said, I think I should be able to make the lights adjust according to the activity.
If it is your intention to proceed with insteon, I suggest checking out the smarthome forum. Yours will not be the first time that someone controls lights from a TV remote.

While I have successfully accomplished this with a couple of different remotes, including a harmony and URC (tending to agree with herdfans view that this is an upgrade), I have temporarily ceased using universal remotes of any kind (for reasons unrelated to lighting) and control lights with a separate device.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:20 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post
I have heard those same rumors. Fortunately (for myself) I have not experienced anything that suggests any truth to them.
It was a while ago, but I pulled 70+ devices from my home because of issues. You would go in a hit a switch and it would be dead. Nothing like coming home in the evening to an annoyed wife and daughter because there is no lights in a room.

Replaced it with Lutron Homeworks and it has been rock solid ever since.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:37 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Hmm, I just noticed that I had missed some (most) of your post when I placed my reply (that's what you get from using your phone).

Anyway, I've also noticed the problem with Insteon and kinda got scared off. Now I'm looking at Lutron Spacer System and I think it looks good and may work for what I need. I prefer not to replace my Harmony until I move to another house with a full Home Theater system.

Anyway, regarding the Spacer, I don't understand how it's different with the Maestro. And I see that there's one picture with 4 switches side-by-side. Does this mean I can separately control each switch? Should it work with my Harmony One?

Also, since it's IR, I'm assuming the remote has to be pointed to the receiver and not just anywhere?

P.S. Just an overview of what I'm planning, need 4 switches to control (1) main lighting (2) TV backlighting (3) side-table lamps (4) corner lamp.
penti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:45 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lutron maestro IR Dimmers Multiple if possible????


Quote:
It was a while ago, but I pulled 70+ devices from my home because of issues.
I suspect you used Insteon before me. My experience is limited to less than 5 years. So far, I have experienced none of the problems reported by some of the earlier adopters such as you.

Advertisement

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a Lutron remote off and on oletrout Electrical 5 07-23-2009 11:57 PM
leviton vizia dimmers Thomas Rice Electrical 2 03-14-2009 07:16 AM
Lutron Satin Snow compares to Cooper Satin white tomas21 Electrical 2 09-16-2008 04:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts