Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2009, 02:14 PM   #1
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

low voltage question


Im building a house and i put a media panel in my basement, where do i take the home runs to on cable and tv? I can tell where it should come off the pole, but do i just stub it out my siding so they can put their little box over it? if so, is there a standard height for it?

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 07:40 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

low voltage question


just put over the other thing and run it a bit so the thing goes that way.

mattman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

low voltage question


If there is no existing drop to your house, you need to ask the cable company or just make an educated guess.

If it's underground, stub out low. If it's overhead, stub out high.

Asthetics is the only issue. They will run their exposed cable anywhere you stub out.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

low voltage question


Quote:
Originally Posted by mattman View Post
just put over the other thing and run it a bit so the thing goes that way.


Well said.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:47 PM   #5
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

low voltage question


so i should just drill a small hole and stub out the rg6 and cat5 together or like a foot apart?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 04:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

low voltage question


What is the cat5 cable for?

Jim Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
high voltage fire alarm jungboklee Electrical 3 01-26-2009 09:07 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM
low voltage lighting question please.. melissadurante Electrical 1 03-02-2008 12:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.