Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


Perhaps a newbie type question, but one that I cannot seem to get a definitive answer from my searches: We’re in the preliminary stages of building a new home, and I have asked the builder and obtained approval to run low voltage runs throughout the house with the expectation I will abide by local code and I will not drill through joist (curious to see how the run everything else without taping into a joist or two, but that’s another discussion for the builder and I).
More to the point, I am exploring the option of using Carlon’s Resi-Gard low voltage conduit to make my CAT 6 and RG 6 runs throughout the house, first and second floor. As I exploring this option and trying to figure out how much I would need to complete the project, I started to think about how the runs would layout and questions began to enter into my brain. Do all the conduit runs have to be “homeruns”, from box to box? Or can I make conduit runs from the gang box to the basement ceiling and then run the cable bundles (without conduit) to the to the rack? If I can do the latter, it would save considerable about of material and effort to get the cables within the conduit. If further explanation is necessary, please let me know.

cphillipsmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 11:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


Why are you running conduit to begin with?

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,699
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


He is talking about the orange smurf tube. If done correctly it would allow for additions and upgrades in the future.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 11:35 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


To use the marketing buzz words from sites that sells it, to “future proof” my runs. As much as I would love to believe CAT 6 will be around for a long, long time, I know it will share the fate of CAT 3/5/5e and will be seen as obsolete. My intent, is to give me the opportunity to re-cable through the conduit, without having to open up the walls.
cphillipsmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 12:52 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


All cable will have to run from where your switch or router will be to it's destination you can't just run one wire and go from one box to another.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


Let me clarify, the questions are in regards to the low voltage conduit, not the cable runs. The cables will follow the hub-and-spoke principle of design and in my case the CAT 6 will be terminated at a patch panel.
cphillipsmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:16 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,699
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


The runs would go from a common point to the boxes. You might be able to hit a couple boxes off the same run of conduit and just pull past the first box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:35 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


I appreciate the tip. I may come across a few runs that I can split from a trunk.
If I may use that scenario, let’s say I have a conduit trunk through an interior wall that feeds multiple branches. I drill my hole for the conduit through the bottom plate of the wall and sub-floor to enter into the basement ceiling and feed the conduit through. Can I stop running the conduit (not talking cables here) after I breach the basement ceiling by a couple of inches? Or do I need to take the conduit trunk as far back as the run itself – meaning the remaining ceiling length of the basement to the termination point?
cphillipsmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:49 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,699
Rewards Points: 2,196
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


If you are not going to finish the area you could just stop the conduit and pull the cables in the open.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 01:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Low Voltage Conduit Runs


Awesome... Thanks for the quick turnaround on answers! I greatly appreciate it.

cphillipsmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
low voltage conduit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code for low voltage runs through PVC in attic camel Electrical 1 07-09-2011 03:38 PM
wire runs in conduit AER Electrical 4 06-29-2011 06:30 AM
Running conduit from basement to the standalone garage sheslostcontrol Electrical 10 10-23-2010 12:22 PM
low voltage inside conduit with line voltage teamo Electrical 1 09-26-2010 04:17 PM
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.