Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2010, 12:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


i changed a outlet. Old one shorted out while changing. It arched across 2 poles. Tried Breaker box didn't trip or blow any breakers or fuses. I still have no power to any of the outlets. Fluke t5 1000 said i have 220 coming into the house to main disconnect. Than it has Romex coming from the main disconnect to a breaker box that has 120 in the breakers if i go from common wire to bus bar. and also from common to hot wire. But it shows common to the breaker 16 volts out I have changed the breaker and still have 16 volts out. I checked the 2 junction boxes that the romex comes out of and the daisy chain outlets through out the house. Does anyone know where i can start to fix this problem or what might i do?

allie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 01:07 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


I'm kind of lost with how things are organized but basically, since you have 240 at the main feeder. Do you also have 120 volts from each leg to the neutral?

If so, then check breakers in that panel to neutral to be sure you have 120 volts. Then continue on through breakers or branch circuits until your reach a point where you find a problem. When you reach a point where voltage changes, your problem the last good point and the first bad point.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 06:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


It is sometimes hard to tell when some breakers are actually tripped. They don't go to the off position and show no red flag. To reset they must be flipped to off then back on. Assuming you understood that, and it actually did not trip, then what he said. That circuit is still live up to some point that failed, most likely at a switch or outlet where there was a loose connection.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 08:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,281
Rewards Points: 560
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


Classic case of "Call an Electrician".
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 09:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Classic case of "Call an Electrician".
Agreed.

When you shorted out the receptacle you caused a lot of current to flow, that might have heated up a loose connection and caused it to fail in some unknown box somewhere down the line.
Shrute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 01:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lost Power to all of my outlets throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by allie74 View Post
it shows common to the breaker 16 volts out I have changed the breaker and still have 16 volts out.
First, turn off everything in your house and slam all breaker handles fully off and fully on.

Trace back where you are losing 104 volts. Make sure you're not reading phantom voltages; your tester doesn't seem to have a Lo-Z option, unless it is already Lo-Z, like a Wiggy, so load your test point with an incand. bulb.

Watch out for arc-flash when working with load center cover off.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 04-15-2010 at 01:39 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlet outage, to all outlets


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird wiring in house fdmillion Electrical 13 06-14-2013 06:49 PM
How to install 3-prong outlets in your old house CoconutPete How To Guides 12 07-05-2010 05:36 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 05:32 AM
Power Washing Brick House bobo Building & Construction 3 09-24-2006 05:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.