Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2011, 08:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

lost power


I went to turn on the vacuum and the power went off. I went downstairs to check the breakers and none was tripped. I clicked the breaker for the room and still nothing. What could be wrong?

cindypit2559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:58 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,963
Default

lost power


What room is this outlet in?

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:59 PM   #3
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

lost power


Did you turn the breaker off and then back on again? A breaker won't move directly to the on position from the tripped position.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:59 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,074
Default

lost power


You could have a loose connection.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

lost power


Are you sure the power went off? Perhaps the vacuum died? Did you call the power company? Maybe an outage coincidentally occurred when you turned on the vacuum? GFCI?

There are a lot of assumptions to be made based on the symptoms you present.

Last edited by jlmran; 12-20-2011 at 09:07 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
outlets lost power Hoegy Electrical 5 11-06-2007 02:06 PM
Garage lost power jkrodger Electrical 4 11-04-2007 08:50 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.