Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-22-2011, 11:48 AM   #1

Share |

Lost neutral on a/c fan

I have, I think, lost my neutral. I have a 120v 1/3 hp. fan motor on what I think is a dedicated plugin ckt.The relay chatters loudly when I turn on the fan. I plugged in a light, & the bulb is very dim, but a plugin tester shows the ckt is good/ wired correctly. This is in a residence built in the late '50s & is a 2 wire ckt..I have crawled part of the ceiling looking for J boxes but to no avail ... how can I temporarily get this thing to work until I can hire an electrician to troubleshoot this problem?.. Could I scab a neutral from a nearby ckt to use it temporarily??.. P.S. I am NOT an electrician.. but I have worked with one as a helper while installing new wiring before..

Last edited by daveincali; 07-22-2011 at 11:50 AM.
daveincali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 12:09 PM   #2

Lost neutral on a/c fan

OK, OK.. I KNOW some won't touch this because of possible code or some other violation may be involved.. but is it plausible to accomplish safely as described? My family, as many others are, struggling with the heat... I can't afford to hire someone for a couple weeks, and this IS only a temporary measure.. I NEED HELP.. if you wish your answer to not appear here.. my email is daveincali@sbcglobal.net. I am desperate & could use some help.. I am not an inspector nor trying to spam or troll... just attempting to get some help.. Thx in advance

Old 07-22-2011, 01:52 PM   #3

Lost neutral on a/c fan

I would try to plug in something else with a heavier load like a vacuum cleaner on that circuit and see if it works. Then you'll know for sure whether it's the circuit or the motor.
readar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to readar For This Useful Post:
daveincali (07-22-2011)
Old 07-22-2011, 02:12 PM   #4