Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 10:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker?


I've had to replace the 100 Amp Main breaker twice. I believe now that one of my circuit breakers is bad on one side of the electrical panel and it is causing my main breaker to short out. (I am only loosing one side of my panel) How can I check to see if I have a bad circuit breaker that is not tripping when I have an overload and is destroying my main breaker. Tired of buying new Main breakers at 50 bucks a pop.

Ron Haakenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:33 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker?


How does the main breaker fasten to the bus bar? Check that spot for arcing or burning away of metal.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:34 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker?


does the main breaker clip on to the bus or is it bolted in? Which manufacturer/type of breaker is this?
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:13 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker?


If a main breaker has failed that many times I would look at a look hot or neutral wire connection or loose connection where the breaker connects to the bus bar. Any loose connection would cause the breaker to heat up repeatedly causing it to fail.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 01:19 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker?


And what kind of load are you running in this box ??

I am pretty sure that you have bad connection on the bussbar if get pitted or corroded then you will have to replace the breaker box that is the only safest methold you can do or you can do the gut changeover only if that is the same brandname and type.

So therefore before you do any changeover on the breaker do as other guys posted.

And most common cuprit is not mounted properly if you get this main breaker mounted crooked ( not straight ) it can cause overheating on bussbar connection at the main breaker.

Second thing you should list what you have in your house like electrique stove , electrique dryer , electrique water heater and other hevey power useage if you have pretty good size house IMO the service may be too small for your useage. ( until I know the Sq Footage and what kind of appalince like all electrique or gaz and heating / Air Condtioning [ central or windowshaker] )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
running a subpanel from the main breaker on the pole. shocknawe Electrical 6 05-09-2011 10:51 AM
Main 100 amp breaker Tony vargas Electrical 1 04-26-2011 09:05 PM
Heating question on main panel breaker, 15A viper Electrical 5 04-04-2011 08:31 AM
Changing breaker in box with no main breaker jrucker Electrical 3 02-16-2010 01:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.