Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 12:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Lost electrical to garage


I want to replace wiring that runs from house to garage. Wiring was done in 50's and lost power at garage. Power at out bound of house is good, but does not make it to garage. I do not know proper gauge or if I should use conduit or PVC. 50 ft away from house. Plan is to abound old and start over. Old run runs under sidewalk. Garage is 2 car two door with openers on each. Motion light, porch light near door. 2 outlets and two lights. nothing big is used in garage, looking for standard garage advise. Thank you

flyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,521
Default

Lost electrical to garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by flyer1 View Post
Power at out bound of house is good, but does not make it to garage.
Are you saying the wiring does not make it to the garage? That could be your problem there.

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 12:26 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Lost electrical to garage


Sounds like the power exiting the house is live but not when it gets to the garage. I run some conduit and wire to the garage depending on what you plan on running there.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Lost electrical to garage


Correct, wire is live at house dead at garage.
flyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Lost electrical to garage


Want to abandon the old run, there are different gauge wires from start to finish of old run. I want to start a new run with proper wiring.
flyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:21 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Lost electrical to garage


You will have to determin what is currently feeding the garage now and decide what you want to run so you can figure out what wire to run.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:44 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Lost electrical to garage


Garage is 2 car, two door with a door opener on each. Motion light, porch light near door. 2 outlets and two lights. nothing big is used in garage, looking for standard garage advise. Wiring (old) is three different gauge sizes. Not going to use anything bigger then what out there now. The amp right now is 20 amp in the box.
Thank you

flyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flyer1 garage


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Wiring for Separate Garage HomeGuy2 Electrical 11 03-15-2013 10:50 PM
Installing 220 in garage for future welder - questions! wguttrid Electrical 7 01-31-2013 07:30 AM
Electrical loading question jimcorey Electrical 2 12-08-2012 07:27 AM
Electrical Outlet in my garage killed my garage door opener. thorxes Electrical 5 02-26-2012 03:17 AM
Adding an Electrical Outlet in garage Ceiling myworkshop Electrical 3 03-09-2009 12:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.