Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-27-2009, 02:40 PM   #1

Share |

loose outlet boxes on metal studs

used metal studs for first time in room remodel. fastened outlet boxes with 2 screws through the front tab to the metal stud. I figured the strenght to hold the box would come after the rock is up.

since i'm no expert in sheetrock most of my holes are cut a bit larger than usual and the outlet ears are just barely gripping on the rock. My issue is that i'm shocked how loose the outlet box is connected to the metal stud. i can pull the outlet box out almost a half inch when i pull a plug out.

I should have screwed the box to the stud from the sides as well but its too late. Are there any refits i can do to get my outlet box to be stable? Is there something i can buy to make the outlet ears "bigger" and then i'll just screw the outlet to the rock to make it solid.

this is the last time i use steel studs! thanks.

windowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 04:02 PM   #2

Depending on the type of box, you may be able to use a MAdison strap to help secure it.

I would pull the receps and use quick setting mud to provide better backing for the ears on the receps. Also, use Nylon cover plates to help you situation. They wont break when you tighten them down. You can tighten the recep down back in a bit and the cover will pull them back out.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:25 AM   #3

filling in the gaps with mud is a good idea but i really think that it would just be too brittle and break off on the first yank of a plug. is quick dryinig mud stronger than the regular blue top stuff?
Old 01-28-2009, 10:06 AM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..