DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Loose electrical outlets

30K views 30 replies 14 participants last post by  theatretch85 
#1 ·
The home we just moved into has loose electrical outlets. If you plug something in, it will fall back out. Almost all outlets are like that with a few exceptions.

1. How come? I thought outlets were pretty standarized.
2. Easy enough for me to replace?

#2 ·
I'm not an electrician, just a DIYer, but it sounds like you just need to replace the old worn receptacles.
Assuming that these are grounded circuits, you need to get the 3-hole receptacles. If the circuits are not grounded, you need to get 2-hole receptacles.
Turn off each circuit at the electrical panel, and connect the black (hot) wires to the brass screws on the receptacles, the white (neutral) wires to the silver screws, and the bare ground wires to the green ground screws on the receptacle and the boxes (if metal).
You should be able to connect them exactly like the old ones for everything to work properly.
Use an electrical tester voltage meter for safety checks before touching any wires.
Good Luck!
Mike

#3 · (Edited)
Mike had some great tips. Another thing you may want to consider is purchasing an outlet tester. Its a small plug in tester with indicator lights that light up, and it will tell you if the outlet is wired correctly or what is incorrect.

In my house i found a few junction boxes where someone thought they knew what they were doing and the hot's and neutral's were crossed. Either the person was blind, Color blind, or just licked matching black to white, instead of keeping the colors together. :mad:

Bottom line is that if its an older house, who knows what was done, and the tester is an inexpensive, quick, easy way to make sure your wiring is done properly.

#5 ·