Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 10:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Loose Circuit Breaker


I've just finished installing a Siemens subpanel for my basement. Code requires arc fault interrupters for all circuits. The first breaker I installed was very loose- I'm used to having to push breakers on with some force- this just slid on and rocks while in position. Is this normal for these breakers, or for Siemen boxes? I tried multiple locations, and it didn't make much difference. I'm assuming this will cause a problem with arcing or flickering lights if I don't do something different, but I wondered for these slide on breakers, how tight is tight enough?

Thanks

robbinsrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 10:43 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Loose Circuit Breaker


They should go on pretty firm not slopply loose if that the case try to exchange the breaker to see if that clear up I have work on few Seamens load centre and they are ok to me.

If you push it on real easy and try to pull it out if come out real easy then you have issue if pull out pretty hard then it is not too bad.

I will let other electrician chime in here some have little more experince with North Americian Seamens verison due I am used to European verison they are diffrent.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Short Circuit but Breaker does not trip vino82 Electrical 6 01-29-2010 01:54 PM
Circuit Breaker, working in reverse dcwestcott Electrical 4 04-06-2009 04:03 PM
Insulation around a electrical circuit breaker box terpsing Electrical 4 02-03-2009 04:08 PM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 07:06 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.