Loop Of Wire Inside Panel To Main Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 08:03 AM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


I have seen some panels with a loop of wire going to the panel. Is that something that is required for expansion and contraction of wires?

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


No, installers may do it for ease of bending.

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


I've seen some folks recommend leaving a small loop of wire so you don't need to rerun a line if you need some slack in the future.
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:51 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,230
Rewards Points: 2,430
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I have seen some panels with a loop of wire going to the panel. Is that something that is required for expansion and contraction of wires?
Nope, some guys call it bow-tieing...I don't care for it personally. I am assmung your talking about after the wire enters the panel and is terminated to the lugs.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Nope, some guys call it bow-tieing....
And Mickey Mouse ears.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 12:20 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


I don't like the looks of it either. Like a nice straight run.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:00 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,230
Rewards Points: 2,430
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I don't like the looks of it either. Like a nice straight run.
In your situation that's true, there are times when leaving excess wire can be a benefit.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:27 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Loop of wire inside panel to main breaker


Sometimes it is easier to install with the loop, then without.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 09:46 AM
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 10:50 AM
sub panel grounding bcarl Electrical 4 01-23-2011 11:37 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 09:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts