Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 12:36 AM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Share |
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


I always assumed so, but I just want to make sure...

Bought a tub of staples meant for Loomex, and the wires seem kinda loose in them, and I'm starting to wonder if this is the wrong product for the job. The box states it's good for 14/2 all the way to 12/3. If I put two 14/2 wires it's nice and snug but otherwise it's very loose unless I bash it in past the stops which it states not to do so I don't do it.

The issue with the wires being loose is as they move around the edges of the staples start to cut into the wire. I have not had any serious damage to the sheet due to this, but it just does not seem right.


Last edited by Red Squirrel; 12-04-2013 at 12:39 AM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 07:27 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


NM cable should be loose under staples. If it is tight then you have the wrong staple or pounded it in too far.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-04-2013), Jim Port (12-04-2013), Philly Master (12-04-2013)
Old 12-04-2013, 01:18 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Oh really? I always thought the whole idea was that it should be tight so the cable can't move around (and scratch against stuff). So these are correct then. Good to know.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 01:43 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,721
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Oh really? I always thought the whole idea was that it should be tight so the cable can't move around (and scratch against stuff). So these are correct then. Good to know.
Just snug enough, to keep it from moving. You just do not want it against, so it leaves an imprint in the jacket.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:41 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


After my electrical rough-in I went around and removed all the staples in my house....

That way I can pull the wires out if I need to replace them.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:07 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
After my electrical rough-in I went around and removed all the staples in my house....

That way I can pull the wires out if I need to replace them.
I hope you are yanking us.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:12 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Loomex is a specific brand (Canadian company) of NM (Non Metallic)cable. Romex is also a brand name that has become synonymous with NM cable just as Kleenex has come to be any brand of tissue.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-04-2013)
Old 12-04-2013, 03:38 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles
I hope you are yanking us.
Who? Me? I would 'never' do something like that.



(Yea...I'm joking)
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 540
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Just snug enough, to keep it from moving. You just do not want it against, so it leaves an imprint in the jacket.

Just for fun I hammered a wire staple in so it was level with the stud, and then took it all apart. There was no real damage to either the wire or the insulation.

I don't recommend it, but apparently you can do really abuse them. (I have however switch to the plastic staples with nails)
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #10
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

Is loomex the same thing as romex?


Actually sounds like a plan. For old work can also just shove romex under the baseboards and surface mount outlets. Lamp cord wire works great too as you can stuff more, maybe 2 or even 3 if you really push it in with the flat screw driver.


(kidding)

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaceing Old, Brittle BX With Fresh Shiney Romex SeanRP Electrical 8 01-06-2011 03:11 PM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
Is metallic ceiling box OK for Romex? KE2KB Electrical 6 12-04-2009 12:03 PM
How to maintain clearance between romex and duct in joist bay? TomServo Electrical 8 10-24-2009 02:31 PM
Exposed Romex Questions bakerhouse Electrical 1 05-13-2008 11:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.