Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 12:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: tennessee
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


I recently moved into a new house and noticed a device up on the ceiling next to my air return grill that looks very different from all the smoke detectors in the house (see attached pictures). There are not markings on this device to indicate what it is nor is the LED on it lit, but there is some writing on the outer ring that just says "TEST" but without a test button like the smoke detectors have. So, what is it, and should the LED be lit? Please excuse my naivety here, but I've never lived in a house with such a device. Thanks in advance, Segal.
Attached Thumbnails
Looks like CO Sensor?-dscn2228.jpg   Looks like CO Sensor?-dscn2227.jpg  

segal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


Do you have a security alarm panel in the house? It could be a low-voltage signal to your alarm company that there is a fire in the house.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: tennessee
Posts: 51
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Do you have a security alarm panel in the house? It could be a low-voltage signal to your alarm company that there is a fire in the house.
Ahhh... Yes, I do have security system and one of the requirements was that a fire in the house triggers a call to the monitoring company. I just assumed they tied into one of the smoke detectors, but I guess this is what the security company installed. The security system was already installed before I moved in. I wonder if that LED should be lit or not. I'll have to check into it with the alarm company I guess. Thank you for your prompt response
segal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,871
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


If I had to guess, it is a Heat detector or Photo Electric, not CO.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


The LED light is usually not lit during normal operation, it should light up if it has detected the presence of smoke/fire.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theatretch85 For This Useful Post:
segal (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 03:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 263
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


That area marked test is usually a spot where you put a magnet to trip the device for testing. If you take it down there is probably a label on the bottom that will tell you what exactly it is.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to teamo For This Useful Post:
segal (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 07:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: tennessee
Posts: 51
Default

Looks like CO Sensor?


After a little more digging (as a result of the comments- thank you all!), it is indeed a photoelectric smoke detector (made by GE), and it is tied into the alarm panel. The LED is not lit nor does it blink light the other standard smoke detectors throughout the house, but it sounds like this sensor just lights up when in alarm.

segal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Water Tank Flammable Vapor Sensor Lockout - A.O. Smith - Promax taviyo Plumbing 11 08-14-2013 04:51 PM
Extending or Modifying Wireless sensor for Tstat kilosos2 HVAC 4 04-15-2012 01:17 PM
Installing 3-way occupancy sensor westbank Electrical 6 05-04-2010 05:08 PM
Ruud furnace issue on upgrade board and flame sensor rubberman HVAC 22 01-15-2010 11:34 PM
Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly? kohaiut Electrical 7 01-14-2009 10:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.