Looking For A Good Multimeter? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-01-2008, 10:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Looking for a good multimeter?

Looing for people's recommendations for a multimeter. I don't need the best one in the world and I'm not a electrician so it doesn't get used everyday but I always do overbuy, I like nice stuff LOL!

I think I'd like an autosensing unit unless they are costly.

Advertisement

Last edited by imola ghost; 09-01-2008 at 10:22 PM.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 10:23 PM   #2

What do ya think of this one?

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...1x000001&aff=Y

Advertisement

Old 09-01-2008, 10:35 PM   #3
Genius (Self Certified)

Rewards Points: 10

Which one you choose depends mostly on what you intend to do with it.
I find it hard to recommend anything but Fluke simply for the safety factor. If your wanting it for projects around the house, a Fluke 114 may be perfect and you can catch it on sale at Sears for just under $100.

Give us a little detail on what you need it for.
jdkasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:56 AM   #4

I like the features of the Craftsman especially the laser thermometer. I just want one that I can experiment with and the more features the better.
Old 09-02-2008, 09:33 AM   #5
Power Gen/RS Engineer

Rewards Points: 500

If you're a HO and your primary use will be to tell if there's voltage present or not, I'd highly recommend a wiggy.

http://www.us.schneider-electric.com...file/wiggy.htm

These are very rugged and no-nonsense. In addition, they will not report phantom/false voltages on open circuits (which is an oft-discussed issue on this site).
Old 09-02-2008, 04:31 PM   #6
Advice worth 2 cents!

A wiggy? no way!