Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2009, 05:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


I live in the Chicagoland area. Code requires conduit -- no problem. I just finished framing. In the past, I framed using metal studs that already had the space for the conduit cut out. Today, I am using good old wood 2x4.

What is the trick for drilling out the conduit location in the 2x4? How do you make sure the holes are perfect -- all aligned up? What type of bit do you use? If the conduit is 1/2", what size bit do you use? Please tell me the exact type of bit -- not a "standard drill bit" There are many kinds and types of bits used for many applications.

Thank you for your expertise.

Jeffrey262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Most resi new construction guys here use a 1 1/8" auger bit on a corded angle drill or hole hog. It turns slowly with a lot of torque and the bit has a screwlike tip that pulls it thru.

Even though you may only be running 1/2" EMT, a little play is desireable.

Measure those holes carefully if you are running pipe. Measure up from the floor on each stud face and transfer the marks with a speed square, using it to mak center.

If you aren't doing a whole house, a simple paddle bit on high speed works well.

The biggest hole you can use without using sleel protector plates is technically 1" as the conduit/cable must be in 1 1/4" from the stud face so dwall nails/screws wont hit it.


Last edited by 220/221; 04-29-2009 at 07:09 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
The biggest hole you can use without using sleel protector plates is technically 1" as the conduit/cable must be in 1 1/4" from the stud face so dwall nails/screws wont hit it.
Might as well use Romex if you still have to use steel plates even for EMT. I can understand steel plates for Romex or even ENT, but EMT is pretty sturdy material. Of course romex and ENT aren't code permitted in Chicago and much of northern Illinois (for reasons I've never understood), so EMT it is!
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


I was troubleshooting a few years back and found a drywall screw screwed right thru a piece of 1/2" EMT.

I am not sure if EMT has the 1 1/4" requirement. I just assumed that it did.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I was troubleshooting a few years back and found a drywall screw screwed right thru a piece of 1/2" EMT.

I am not sure if EMT has the 1 1/4" requirement. I just assumed that it did.
300.4 A. (1)(1) Bored Holes. In both exposed and concealed locations, where a cable- or raceway-type wiring method is installed through bored holes in joists, rafters, or wood members, holes shall be bored so that the edge of the hole is not less than 32 mm (11⁄4 in.) from the nearest edge of the wood member. Where this distance cannot be maintained, the cable or raceway shall be protected from penetration by screws or nails by a steel plate(s) or bushing(s), at least 1.6 mm (1⁄16 in.) thick, and of appropriate length and width installed to cover the area of the wiring. Exception No. 1: Steel plates shall not be required to protect rigid metal conduit, intermediate metal conduit, rigid nonmetallic conduit, or electrical metallic tubing.

I guess it's not.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:14 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


This guy (or gal) is in Chicago, so no romex. If it were me, I'd pop a chalk line, then use a speed square to mark the sides of the studs. Use a 1" or 1-1/8" spade bit or auger bit.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 12:00 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


The other thing with conduits please do pay attetion to the numbers of bends espcally if it is on the corner that can really play ugly rear end and try to keep the conduit straght as possiable.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:25 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Thanks for the info. I have one more question: How do you install the conduit after the holes have been drilled out? Each conduit pole is 10 feet in length. Each 2x4 is 14 1/2" space between the next one. What are the options?

Thank you,
--jeff
Jeffrey262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:57 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winthrop Harbor Illinois
Posts: 33
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Lot's of cutting and couplings or try and go vertical.
jsmith929 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Yeah.....couplings are your friends.

To go horizontal thru a wall, keep drilling and insert the pipe thru the end if you can.

If you are pinched in on both sides.....use short pieces and tweak them in?...cut a stud loose and toenail it back in? Go up and over? Notch and nail plate?

If the allow the notch and plate, that would be the easiest. Bend the pipe and notch/plate accordingly. It doesn't take much longer to notch than to cut.

Last edited by 220/221; 04-30-2009 at 05:04 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 09:13 PM   #11
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Oversize your holes. You can generally get away with a 1 1/4" bit. Cut your lengths of conduit to fit across 2 1/2 stud bays. You should be able to cram them in fairly easily. Couple them up and repeat. Also, in order to fasten the pipe, J hooks are a great tool. Just bang them in to the meat of the stud from above the conduit (pound them down) and they hold like crazy.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:33 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Goose, I see you live in the Chicagoland area. Would you like to pickup a side job? I will help throughout the whole process. Send me an email if you are interested jeffrey262@aol.com
Jeffrey262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:44 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Quote:
I will help throughout the whole process
That will generally cost you more

The best thing a homeowner can do is go away and clean up when they come back.

Beer and food are always a nice touch too.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:03 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


Sure dude! Thanks for the advice. I sure hope you never ask for advice on something you do not know how to do. And if you do, I hope you get the same advice as you provided. Why answer with a sarcastic comment? If you can add value or expertise, then you should chime in. Otherwise, don't.
Jeffrey262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:13 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Looking for assistance installing Conduit


I offered great advice in two different posts, douchebag.

I wasn't being sarcastic, I was being honest. In the contractor forums, one of the biggest red flags is homeowners wanting to "help".

The only help you can offer is to stay out of the way and clean up the mess. Why is that so offensive to you?

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conduit, electrical, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground wire in rigid conduit measure thrice Electrical 3 02-03-2009 05:25 AM
#3 AWG Copper SER / PVC Conduit Question djejay75 Electrical 4 12-11-2008 11:40 PM
Conduit for #6 wire joey b Electrical 13 11-22-2008 12:13 PM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 06:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.