Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 07:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Long service run/transformer


Hello,

I'm here from electricaltalk.com and thought this might be an appropriate forum for my question/situation. Thank you in advance for your help.

I have a 370' (one way) run from a 25KVA transformer to the meter can mounted at the house (new construction). I need 400amp service at the house (actual load is less than 400 amps, +/- 320). The 25KVA transformer at the pole currently services one other house (existing). I have spoken to the POCO and he said the transformer is sufficient for their service and our 400amp service. POCO has told me we must use a CT 320 can. Power at the house runs from the meter can to (2) 200amp panels in the house; one panel is 50' away from the meter, the other is 100' away. On the 100' run we used 4/0 aluminum. I am new to this and working with a "master" electrician. I have my doubts on the wire size and the POCO's assessment of the 25KVA transformer. As I said, I am new, so please have some mercy. Thank you in advance for your help. To be concise, my questions are as follows:

1)What wire size is required from the transformer to the can, and will it work with a CT 320 can?

2)Is the 25KVA transformer sufficient as described above?

3)Is 4/0 aluminum acceptable on a 100' run from the meter to our panel inside?

Thank you
dirtpoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,166
Default

Long service run/transformer


That far,the pogo should have run 7200 to a separate xfmr.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Long service run/transformer


Thank you for such a quick response. If getting another transformer is not an option, is the 25KVA adequate? If it is adequate, what wire size is required? Thank you.
dirtpoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:07 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Long service run/transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtpoor View Post
Hello,

I'm here from electricaltalk.com and thought this might be an appropriate forum for my question/situation. Thank you in advance for your help.

I have a 370' (one way) run from a 25KVA transformer to the meter can mounted at the house (new construction). I need 400amp service at the house (actual load is less than 400 amps, +/- 320). The 25KVA transformer at the pole currently services one other house (existing). I have spoken to the POCO and he said the transformer is sufficient for their service and our 400amp service. POCO has told me we must use a CT 320 can. Power at the house runs from the meter can to (2) 200amp panels in the house; one panel is 50' away from the meter, the other is 100' away. On the 100' run we used 4/0 aluminum. I am new to this and working with a "master" electrician. I have my doubts on the wire size and the POCO's assessment of the 25KVA transformer. As I said, I am new, so please have some mercy. Thank you in advance for your help. To be concise, my questions are as follows:

1)What wire size is required from the transformer to the can, and will it work with a CT 320 can?

2)Is the 25KVA transformer sufficient as described above?

3)Is 4/0 aluminum acceptable on a 100' run from the meter to our panel inside?

Thank you
25 KVA single phase transformer .. is nowhere near what you need for a 400 amp service. Are you sure you heard correctly?

Use this formula: A = (KVA x 1000) / LLV. For example, if you have a 25 KVA, 120/240 volt, single-phrase transformer with an LLV of 240 volts, you can calculate the amp capacity: A = (25 KVAx1000) / 240 = 25000 / 240 = 104 amps.

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-01-2013 at 09:11 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Long service run/transformer


Yes, the POCO rep stated it several times. Before I could question him he said,"You're master is going to say it isn't, but 25KVA is sufficient." Hence my doubts, and that's what's led me to question the wire sizes from the transformer as he said 500mcm should work. Any thoughts on the wire sizes in the original post. I genuinely appreciate your responses. By the way, it's single phase 120/240.
dirtpoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:56 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Long service run/transformer


Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtpoor View Post
Yes, the POCO rep stated it several times. Before I could question him he said,"You're master is going to say it isn't, but 25KVA is sufficient." Hence my doubts, and that's what's led me to question the wire sizes from the transformer as he said 500mcm should work. Any thoughts on the wire sizes in the original post. I genuinely appreciate your responses. By the way, it's single phase 120/240.
Very simple with most POCO they will know and sized the transfomer to closest to the average load as possible so I know few larger home with 320/400 amp service did use 25 KVA transfomer and it is pretty common unless you show them the load demand caluation.

The only time they will bump up if the load demand caluations mention tankless electrique water heaters that useally kill them then they will bump up to either 37.5 or 50 KVA can

370 feet is pretty much over the limit for most POCO will use that for lateral run ( underground run ) most case AFAIK useally 200 feet average unless upsizing the conductor.

With larger conductor check with your POCO for approved meter socket for that size due there are few differnt requirement for it.

And most POCO rather load up the smaller transfomer than use the larger transfomer and run light loaded which they will try to advoid it much as possible.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:30 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Long service run/transformer


Thanks for your response.

As I'm sure you know, we're responsible for running the wire from the transformer to the meter at the house; the POCO said he didn't care what wire size we ran. Other than a problem with the wire size matching the meter requirements, do you see a problem with us upsizing the conductor to get from the transformer to the house?

Last edited by dirtpoor; 02-02-2013 at 12:32 AM.
dirtpoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:56 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Long service run/transformer


What size wire you run and the size of the pole transformer are two separate topics.

If it turns out that the pole transformer gets overloaded then the power company will upgrade it at a later date.

(copied from another forum)

My uncle has a 200 amp service and heat pumps. Some years ago he complained that there were voltage dips of a few seconds, not often but to less than 105 volts. Finally the power company upgraded the pole transformer and the problem stopped. My best explanation was that the power dip happened when air conditioning or heat pump units of two homes kicked on at the same time.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-02-2013 at 07:59 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,446
Default

Long service run/transformer


They really need to run primary and set another transformer closer to your house. That's far too long of a run for 400A secondary. With an undersized transformer and that long of a service feeder, you will have lights dimming and other voltage drop problems at peak load. They just don't want to do the work, so they're trying to make you buy a huge amount of giant wire instead.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 01:04 PM
Really long secondary run to service detached garage crankcase Electrical 6 09-21-2010 09:47 PM
Central A/C Service Costs brentp Off Topic 9 05-25-2010 07:25 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 05:42 PM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.