Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2012, 01:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Share |
Default

long extension cord run?


I want to build a small chicken coop that will be in the far back of my yard. I live in northern Ohio so I'm wondering what to do about the water freezing in the winter

There's a 12/2 run to my shed (about 50' from the panel), I'm wondering if I can run about 200-feet of extension cord from that shed to my coop over the winter to run a 125-watt water heater. At about an amp it seems like it would be ok? What do you think?
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

long extension cord run?


Works for me.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Default

long extension cord run?


if it's temporary. Make sure the cord gauge is lower, like 12/2 cord, to compensate volt drop. if its multiple cords then wrap the connections in a bag and tape. And plug it into a gfci outlet.

But keep it temporary! Think about digging a trench and putting in a permanent line. Im sure there's a post on this site on how to do that.
sparkyjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,496
Default

long extension cord run?


A #16 cord 200' long with a 1 amp load will cause about 2 volts drop. This is perfectly acceptable for any type of load. A #12 cord will have a bit less than 1 volt of drop.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 2-wire cord on old motor Arnold Ziffel Electrical 4 03-13-2012 11:52 PM
14/3 Power Cord in conduit NotSoElectric Electrical 10 09-05-2011 09:40 AM
Ceiling power cord kerry42 Electrical 18 11-03-2009 03:58 PM
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 07:25 AM
Help w/Welding Machine Extension Cord ThePlumber Electrical 1 07-23-2006 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.