"AND" Logic Light Switch To "OR" Logic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


I am sure there's a name for this, but I have no idea what it would be.

Basically, I have a light connected to two switches. To turn on the light, both need to be ON. Either switch off turns off the light. I'd like to make it work so the light could be turned on by either switch.

Advertisement

wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:33 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Describe the wireing inside both switch boxes.
Sounds like a traveler may be misswired.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:35 PM   #3
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Google "3-way switch"...and I agree with jbfan
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright

Last edited by fabrk8r; 04-27-2011 at 03:38 PM.
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:44 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


wcpatton; what it sounds like you have at the moment is a pair of spst switches wired in series. if you have only spst switches, you can control the on function as you desire but the off function will be still be an "and" function.

You need, as fabricator intimated, a set of 3 way switches and the appropriate wiring between them.

if you already have 3 way switches, then they are simple wired incorrectly. If so, as jbfan asked, explain the situation in the switch boxes.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


It looks like Black wire on one side, other side has white and red.
wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:49 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Quote:
Originally Posted by wcpatton View Post
It looks like Black wire on one side, other side has white and red.
On both switches?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:59 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Yes, on both.

What I'm looking for is to be able to flick the switch and have the light change either on or off, regardless of which direction the switch is.
wcpatton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:44 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Ok, so it sounds like you do have 3 way switches. Now, you need to do some investigation.



ignore the wire colors in the pic as they may not coincide with what you have.

The two screws with a common color (usually brass or silver) are for the travelers. The (usually) black screw is for the hot feed on one end of the circuit and switch leg to the light on the other end of the circuit. I have seen a switch that had both travelers on one side of the switch so just use the screw color to determine which is which.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 06:51 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Quote:
Originally Posted by wcpatton View Post
Yes, on both.

What I'm looking for is to be able to flick the switch and have the light change either on or off, regardless of which direction the switch is.
You have a misiwred 3-way setup. That's all.
It WILL work as you want once it is corrected.

A 3-way switch has no "on" or "off" position.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:30 PM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


This animated diagram should help you understand 3-way switches:
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:44 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
This animated diagram should help you understand 3-way switches:
Is that a "Bud" Light??
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
secutanudu (04-27-2011)
Old 04-27-2011, 07:50 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


If you just want a "OR" logic I'm guessing you want it so if any or both switch are on, the light is on?

If yes, two standard switches in parallel should do this. A 3 way circuit makes more sense though but guess it depends on your situation.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 07:53 PM   #13
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Quote:
Originally Posted by wcpatton View Post
What I'm looking for is to be able to flick the switch and have the light change either on or off, regardless of which direction the switch is.
Squirrel...looks like he wants to be able to toggle the state of the light (on/off) from either side....so he needs a 3-way. That's how I interpret it at least.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 08:21 PM   #14
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,356
Rewards Points: 3,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


If you only have three wires in each switch then you will need to use a voltage tester to find the hot lead. One of the wires in one of the switches will be always hot to ground.

If you don't have a voltage tester then tell us the wires in the fixture as as ALL the wires in the switches.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:11 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

"AND" Logic Light Switch to "OR" Logic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
If you just want a "OR" logic I'm guessing you want it so if any or both switch are on, the light is on?

If yes, two standard switches in parallel should do this. A 3 way circuit makes more sense though but guess it depends on your situation.
I think your "logic" is better than the OP's. It sounds like the OP wants a standard 3-way switching arrangment, which isn't "OR" it's "XOR".

Advertisement

thadsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light switch logic


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 11:18 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts