Location Of Receptacles In Kitchen - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2013, 04:55 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


I wonder if they could get by with the pop-up outlets that are available, or use the in cabinet outlets, and have the appliances on pull-out type trays inside the cabinets, that when pulled out, you can pull them up to the counter height.

On the other hand, that whole pass through window probably seemed as a great idea at first, but now it is not looking that great, due to the headache it has created.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 06:48 PM   #32
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 12,100
Rewards Points: 10,992
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The pop up outlets are not code compliant as far as I know. The only code solution is a solid mount tombstone style. In counter up facing receptacles are not allowed.

The only out you might is no receptacles. I believe the code might read "wall space' behind counter. There is NO wall space there.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 08:12 PM   #33
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


It is my understanding that those windows count as wall space...just like an open railing in a loft type room would count as wall space.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 08:20 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The pop up outlets are not code compliant as far as I know. The only code solution is a solid mount tombstone style. In counter up facing receptacles are not allowed.

The only out you might is no receptacles. I believe the code might read "wall space' behind counter. There is NO wall space there.
You are assuming that they are not code compliant how?

This will clear up any misconceptions about them. http://www.tnb.com/pub/node/1459 The GFCI receptacle is rated at 15 amps, 125 volts AC and 60 Hertz. It is compliant with UL 943, CSA C22.2 No. 144.1, NEC Section 210.52(C)(5) and NEC Section 406.5(E).
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:17 PM   #35
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,724
Rewards Points: 1,798
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It is my understanding that those windows count as wall space...just like an open railing in a loft type room would count as wall space.
Absolutely. The "wall space" term is used for dimensions, regardless if there is a wall or not. Even in this case, there IS a wall, it just happens to be filled with very low windows.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:17 PM   #36
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 12,100
Rewards Points: 10,992
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Rated at 15 amps? Don't you need 20 amps down there in the USA for kitchen receptacles?
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:39 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Rated at 15 amps? Don't you need 20 amps down there in the USA for kitchen receptacles?
Yes, but all outlets on Kitchen circuits are 15 amp, but rated for 20 amp pass through. Only time I have seen a 20 amp outlet, is in a Commercial install, or a location where a homeowner may want to plug in a 20 amp rated device.

The 70 amp stick welder I have is rated at 20 amps, but uses a 15 amp plug on the end. Rarely do you find 20 amp plugs on devices. Even the buffers we used in the Navy on board ship all had 15 amp plugs, but were rated at 20 amps.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:17 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 1,548
Default


I appreciate all the replies.

So if I go with something like this:

http://www.electricsuppliesonline.co...box-cover.html

I assume you will cut this square hole after the counter top has been installed instead of having it cut before delivery - like the large holes for the double sink?

Must be real tricky to cut a hole like this through granite. I bet a mistake could be really costly.
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:50 PM   #39
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,113
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by miamicuse View Post
I appreciate all the replies.

So if I go with something like this:

http://www.electricsuppliesonline.co...box-cover.html

I assume you will cut this square hole after the counter top has been installed instead of having it cut before delivery - like the large holes for the double sink?

Must be real tricky to cut a hole like this through granite. I bet a mistake could be really costly.
If you know the location that they will be installed, I would definitely have the vendor cut the hole.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:21 AM   #40
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 4,082
Rewards Points: 16
Default


I believe I located the unit shown in usair's photo.
http://www.mockett.com/pcs39-ee-hw.html

While shown in black, it also comes in Satin Aluminum.
It is a hardwire unit, installs thru a 3"diameter hole.
You would need to add GFCI protection, either at the breaker or a unit below the counter.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:27 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
I believe I located the unit shown in usair's photo.
http://www.mockett.com/pcs39-ee-hw.html

While shown in black, it also comes in Satin Aluminum.
It is a hardwire unit, installs thru a 3"diameter hole.
You would need to add GFCI protection, either at the breaker or a unit below the counter.
At least the Carlon already has built in GFCI protection. As for that one, it would just have to be downstream of the gfci outlet on the chain on that wall, or yes, go with the breaker.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 02:46 PM   #42
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,724
Rewards Points: 1,798
Default


lectric, nice job digging up old threads to get your spam links posted.
What's this, four so far?

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (01-03-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen floor tiles. ABurch Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 12-06-2012 01:35 PM
Need help in re-designing tiny 1920's kitchen! PiscesWoman Interior Decorating 21 04-30-2012 04:25 PM
kitchen design: should we remove inner wall(s)? ilyaz Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 4 10-26-2010 08:59 AM
Using same tile for bathroom and kitchen too Matchy-Matchy? Jeanene Interior Decorating 10 03-29-2010 01:38 AM
kitchen renovation - baseboard heat location tpagel Plumbing 7 03-14-2010 10:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1