Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2008, 02:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Location of Junction box


I have a 4" x 4" x 2" square J-Box in my attic where I want to add/change the wiring.
The box is currently located very close to the floor, so it is a bit difficult to access.
I was told a while ago by someone here that a J-box must be a specific distance from the floor or roof. I seem to recall 1m, or 3ft, but that sounds like too far.

I have been searching through the 2005 code, but cannot find this specific info.

Can someone tell me how far from the floor I need to re-install the J-box?

Note: The attic has a full floor. There are bats of fiberglass insulation between the rafters.

Thanks

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 02:50 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Location of Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
I have a 4" x 4" x 2" square J-Box in my attic where I want to add/change the wiring.
The box is currently located very close to the floor, so it is a bit difficult to access.
I was told a while ago by someone here that a J-box must be a specific distance from the floor or roof. I seem to recall 1m, or 3ft, but that sounds like too far.

I have been searching through the 2005 code, but cannot find this specific info.

Can someone tell me how far from the floor I need to re-install the J-box?

Note: The attic has a full floor. There are bats of fiberglass insulation between the rafters.

Thanks
There is no such requirement.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 04:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Location of Junction box


Thanks. I may still move or completely eliminate the J-box, since I am considering pulling new wire to the two receptacles that this box feeds.
If I do that, I'll just daisy-chain the circuit.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 05:11 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Location of Junction box


The term "accessible" is possibly a little interpretive, but I agree with InPhase277 that there is definately no such requirement. The box has to be accessible and nothing more. If someone can get at it without any sort of destructive measures, it is good to go.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 05:50 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,132
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Location of Junction box


A related question. When I replaced my over the range hood with a microwave, the feed to the hood came up from the crawl space and I did not have enough slack to move up to the lower cabinet. (I tried to pull the wire back down to the crawl but it was stapled and I could not move it. The wire is in an insulated outside wall.) I installed an old work box behind the MW and ran up to a new receptacle box in the upper cabinet. I soldered and wire nutted the connections and put a note in the new box that there was a JB behind the MW. Does this meet the rquirement of accessability? You have to take down the MW to access the JB.
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 06:03 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,920
Rewards Points: 2,634
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Location of Junction box


I think you are OK. Th MW is an appliance and not permanent piece of the dwelling.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
buried junction box shadango Electrical 28 04-09-2010 04:49 PM
Junction box calculation mind screw Kingsmurf Electrical 1 07-22-2008 11:33 PM
Junction Question? fw2007 Electrical 10 03-31-2008 11:03 AM
Device Box used as Junction Box BigJimmy Electrical 5 01-27-2008 09:37 PM
Old House - no junction box - HELP! Designman20 Electrical 22 10-11-2007 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.