Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-09-2009, 09:13 AM   #1
Household Handyman

Share |

Locating underground lawn sprinkler pipes

I have need to place a wire underground to service a lamp post in a back yard. The problem is that there is a lawn sprinkler system in this yard and the homeowner has no idea how the pipes run. She did turn on the sprinklers, but that only shows me where they are located. This 45-50 foot ditch will be hand dug, the lady does not won't a trenching machine in her yard. But, somewhere I will most likely cross one, or more, of the sprinkler pipes. The local utilities locating company says they do not locate sprinkler pipes for individual contractors, just the big utility contractors. The local rental place does not have a locater to rent for this. I am not experienced with "Dowser Rods" either. Does anyone have a suggestion as to how to find/locate these sprinkler pipes? Thanks, David

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 09:24 AM   #2
Chaos Engineer

I would not worry about it if you are hand digging the trench you will know when you find one.

But if you must find them remove one of the sprinkler heads that you think will have a line that will cross the trench. Then run a copper wire through the head down the pipe. Get a metal detector from the rental place and run the metal detector over the area you want to trench. Teh wire inside the pipe will show up. Hand dig in that area and whammy pipe found.

Post if you want more info on how this is done.

Big Nate

Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:00 AM   #3