Locating Floating Neutral - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 10:51 AM   #31
Licensed Electrician
k_buz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006

Locating Floating Neutral

If the POCO metered their lines with no load, they easily could have missed a bad neutral on their end.


__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:19 AM   #32
Thadius856's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 923
Rewards Points: 504

Locating Floating Neutral

Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
I get 1079 watts total, so that is not anywhere near the capacity of the wiring or circuit. Rule that out!

As for shorting the lug with the neutral, that would cause a "voltage surge" and voltage surges can damage some electronic devices.

So the question is, did this shorting happen at the same time the painter came? (Or did the problem crop up right after the shorting occurred?)
Surge was approximately or week before painting. I was making room for this circuit to be hooked up, so it wasn't connected yet.


Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 05:28 PM
Need Neutral Connections - Installing Subpanel ctlu008 Electrical 10 01-01-2012 07:54 AM
3 way switch -OK to drop down neutral like this to light through switch box via 12/3? darlingm Electrical 9 12-22-2011 02:48 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts