Loads - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-13-2012, 03:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

loads

hi I am new here and need some help. once i registered i see everyone here are mostly pro's and i am not i just need some help so please dont mind my question, because I am a beginner. I am trying to find out the Load on electrical line. let me explain so its a little easier to understand. During the holiday season I have quite a large holiday display at my house, I have a bunch of items I put on my roof and run about 30 really heavy duty extension cords from my roof to the ground close to 100 feet long. Might I add there really heavy. I wanted to make my own extension cords at of STP2 wire but I was told I need to know the load for the wire. So I don't even know how to find out what the load is on the wire. Each extension cord that goes up to the roof only powers one item each, for example one wire might power a 1 foot tall snowflake with 100 incandescent bulbs on it, another one would power a wreath I have on the roof with hundred LED lightbulbs It. So I hope to God I am making some kind of sense. Can someone please tell me if there's a tool I need to buy simply tell me what the load is, or if there's an equation to figure out what the load is..... So I can figure out what type of extension cord I can use. I definitely don't want to keep using the really heavy gauged heavy duty ones I presently use now.

Thank you

Advertisement

R.j.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 03:44 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

loads

To determine the load (amps) you do the following:

Number of lights X watts per light / 120

So if a fixture has 50 7 watt bulbs you are looking at 350 watts or 2.91 amps.