Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2008, 05:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Load vs. line wire


A delayed timer switch I am installing requires that a different wire be fastened to the "load wire" than to the "line." How would I determine which is which (both come into box at same side). Can I use a multitester?
gvernea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 05:25 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Load vs. line wire


Yes. Check continuity.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 07:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Load vs. line wire


the terminal labeled line is the power coming into the timer and the line goes to the unit being turned on by the timer
mgv79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 08:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Load vs. line wire


Continuity between which wires coming out of the box?

There is no terminal or label on the wires coming from the wall box, I know which wire coming from the switch is which. The black load wire from the wall box and black line wire are the ones I can't tell apart.
gvernea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Load vs. line wire


The LINE wire would be the one with voltage on it, the load, well would be the device the line is suppling to...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 12:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Load vs. line wire


Quote:
Yes. Check continuity

I assume that this guy means you were joking?


Line side is the one with voltage. There could be continuity on either side.

Line = in, load = out.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire sizes based on actual connected load BigJimmy Electrical 7 08-21-2007 08:30 PM
10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line hsdude1992 Electrical 5 06-30-2007 01:36 PM
Wire Size Help-400ft line to pond for fountain brownie47854 Electrical 14 04-22-2007 12:50 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.