Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 01:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 48
Share |
Default

Load panel and lights


I'm looking into replacing my load panel and most people seem to recommend cutler hammer panels so my question is is this a good one

Model #: CH42B200V

Also, I have four floodlights, one on each corner of the house. They are on two switches by the front door and operate as front and back. I am adding french doors on the side of the house and was wondering is it possible to wire the lights to do right side front and rear from a switch by that door. I read an article about a guy discussing this but he never said how he done it other than he tab an extra wire from the lights to give him front back and left right

Thanks in advance for your help

kujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,695
Default

Load panel and lights


If someone tells you that one brand of panel is better than another, it is just there opinion.

Depending on how the lights are wire, and how handy you are, you can make the changes you to on the lights.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

Load panel and lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by kujo View Post
I'm looking into replacing my load panel and most people seem to recommend cutler hammer panels so my question is is this a good one

Model #: CH42B200V

Also, I have four floodlights, one on each corner of the house. They are on two switches by the front door and operate as front and back. I am adding french doors on the side of the house and was wondering is it possible to wire the lights to do right side front and rear from a switch by that door. I read an article about a guy discussing this but he never said how he done it other than he tab an extra wire from the lights to give him front back and left right

Thanks in advance for your help
an overview answer to the 2nd question would be 'probably' You can replace the switches with 3-ways and run a wire between the existing switches and the new location. Some other folks here have some good diagrams for that sort of thing so I'll let them post it up to give a better picture.
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:37 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,720
Default

Load panel and lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by kujo View Post

Also, I have four floodlights, one on each corner of the house. They are on two switches by the front door and operate as front and back. I am adding french doors on the side of the house and was wondering is it possible to wire the lights to do right side front and rear from a switch by that door. I read an article about a guy discussing this but he never said how he done it other than he tab an extra wire from the lights to give him front back and left right

Thanks in advance for your help

Try going wireless, if you can install a dimmer, you can easily do this change over yourself.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_30469-539-MR...cagpspn=pla%22
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Load panel and lights


So what are you trying to do ?
Do you want an extra light switch,
in a different location ?
Do you want to reconfigure the lights from
the current front and back to side and side ?
Please elaborate ?
You were not very clear.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 48
Default

Load panel and lights


You need to get constant power to front and rear switch locations, then from switch location to corner light, then the other corner can run to switches or the first light, which ever is cheapest/easiest. It depends on the lay out of the yard to have mabe front and left? Side be switched from the front switches, and have the 2 rear switches control back yard lights and right side of the house. Depending on the yard, you may be better off with 3 switches at the front(Left, right, and front. If you had motions sensors wired for front, rear, left, and right, it would narrow down the location of an intruder.

< Page 2

Maybe I'm reading this wrong but sounds like he's talking about lights being wired to work front rear left and right
kujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Load panel and lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by kujo View Post
You need to get constant power to front and rear switch locations, then from switch location to corner light, then the other corner can run to switches or the first light, which ever is cheapest/easiest. It depends on the lay out of the yard to have mabe front and left? Side be switched from the front switches, and have the 2 rear switches control back yard lights and right side of the house. Depending on the yard, you may be better off with 3 switches at the front(Left, right, and front. If you had motions sensors wired for front, rear, left, and right, it would narrow down the location of an intruder.

< Page 2

Maybe I'm reading this wrong but sounds like he's talking about lights being wired to work front rear left and right
So he wants to seperate the two front lights ?

Easy !

Remove the hot line from one of the lights,
Cap it off,and,
run a new single hot line from the new
switch to the light.
Jumper the hot supply on the switchs input sides.
The existing neutral and earth at the light remain the same.

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel over 10g-2 Help Needed hamblinh Electrical 30 01-18-2013 07:46 PM
Voltage drop? Lights dim with load on different circuit. nezwick Electrical 28 08-14-2012 10:18 AM
Sub-panel selewis Electrical 23 02-21-2010 10:52 PM
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 05:39 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.