Load Center Visual Check - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 10:59 PM   #1
Graduate of Wiring 1-2-3
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Load Center visual check


What do you see that's wrong with this load center?
It's mounted on wood, shouldn't it be on drywall?
Thanks to EBFD6 for the picture.

Advertisement

Lurlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 02:11 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Center visual check


Jezz there is plenty things are wrong I almost dropped my breakfast to floor when I look at the photo.

Now is this main service cable is from bottom feed ? if so why not inverted the box in irst place so it don't have to bend the bloody big cable like that.

Second I don't see the EGC there unless it is buried somewhere.

Is this load centre a real main breaker useage or use as subpanel ?

If latter that is a major code voliation.

Now for the rest I don't see any NM staples on the NM cables it have to be withen 12 inches from the box { that is easly corrected }

I did see one good issue look at the two pole breaker you have two breakers with two conductor and the other one with single conductor that is a no-no at all { I know SqD QO series are listed for two conductors under 30 amp size }

two -two pole breakers with unremarked white conductor that should be marked for 240 volts load.

Double up netural conductor at the netural bussbar is a major no-no

I know you will ask about plywood over the drywall well.,

Some wall have nonstandard stud spacing and if the box will not able hit one of the two studs then we will put in a plywood to support the load centre unless you got a good 14.5 inch spacing between the studs then it will be sunk in the wall without issue.

The other reason why I rather put a plywood on the wall if nonstandard spacing or must have to surface mounted for good reason then I will use the plywood instead of drywall due the weight of load centre it can get pretty hevey and the drywall will not support the weight of load centre plus the numbers of conductors that can add up weight pretty fast.

I don't know if my eyes are teaseing me but look like at least two NM cable did not have any NM clamps there. { on left side of load centre}

Oh yeah I will never use the drywall screws to support this big of load centre like that.

If you want my grade on this one.,, it is D-

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:44 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,240
Rewards Points: 2,736
Default

Load Center visual check


If it's a main panel I can't see a bonding screw.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Center visual check


Very sloppy, which will attract closer attention from the inspector, once he stops laughing.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 09:46 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,563
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Load Center visual check


Better question would be:
"What do you see that's RIGHT with this load center?"
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 03:26 PM   #6
Graduate of Wiring 1-2-3
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Load Center visual check


Thanks for the insight!
I haven't seen many load centers, that's why I'm asking.

Here's what I see that doesn't make me drop my breakfast:
No burnt or melted parts.
No double wires to one breaker screw.
One open space for another circuit.
Thicker wires going to the 240V breakers, mostly.

Can you tell me what would be laughable about this object?
Lurlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:08 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,195
Rewards Points: 606
Default

Load Center visual check


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurlene View Post
.

Here's what I see that doesn't make me drop my breakfast:
Thicker wires going to the 240V breakers, mostly.
Even if there were #14 going to a 240V breaker, what would be wrong with this as long as the wire was sized properly to the breaker capacity.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Center visual check


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurlene View Post
Can you tell me what would be laughable about this object?
The fact that in the original picture- before being cropped -it showed the wires coming up from the floor
And the breaker panel was installed in a room on the wall

Here is the 2nd picture:

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:32 PM   #9
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,243
Rewards Points: 2,064
Default

Load Center visual check


LOL WHY would they install the panel in a room upstairs? It's obvious the feed is in the basement, and all the wires are going there, so why not just install it there? That is hilarious. i can now picture the home owner wanting to hide that and doing ridiculous code violations like shoving a huge heavy dresser in front of it, or something.

And do I see ground wires connecting with neutrals? Even if it's the main, that's a big no no right? I figured they still had to be on seperate bars, just that the bars are bonded.

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 09-28-2010 at 06:35 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 07:15 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Load Center visual check


Some houses do not have a basement. Around here, most of `em have a crawl space with about 3 feet or less clearance.

Where is the meter box on this house? Just outside the window, behind the panel? Or elsewhere?

I agree that it would have been a better installation with the mains at the bottom.

As for the neutrals and grounds, IF the panel is the service entrance, then you can mix `em on the same bus bars. As long as you only have one neutral per terminal, you're good to go!

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Load center to use bob22 Electrical 2 11-07-2009 04:28 PM
Meter Load Center Combo mikkyle Electrical 4 10-30-2009 05:49 PM
Gen-ready load center for CH breakers i6pwr Electrical 2 08-23-2009 11:09 AM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
Moved ceiling light in bedroom to center, now trips breaker blthomas Electrical 18 01-24-2008 04:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts