Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2013, 07:30 AM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Load center for residential.


That's all well and good, but most people don't ever turn off a breaker. Add to that the increasing mandates for costly AFCI breakers, and it doesn't make much sense for most people to have their wiring laid out like you like to.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 08:41 AM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,950
Rewards Points: 2,156
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You can use 1/2/twin/skinny/tandem breakers in any panel that will accept them. It's not just a GE thing.
Not all GE load centers accept GE THQP 1/2 size breakers. Oddly enough, I just observed a GE LC that only accepts full size breakers with a CH BR twin installed in it.

Sorry, I just reread the "that will accept them" portion of your post. My bad.

Last edited by brric; 11-08-2013 at 08:45 AM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 09:34 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Load center for residential.


I utilized Square D for my house and I think it is because the first residential EC I worked for only used Square D. As noted by others it is a Ford, Chevy thing with others swearing Dodge.

As long as Zinsco and Old FPE are not in the mix.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:02 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You can use 1/2/twin/skinny/tandem breakers in any panel that will accept them. It's not just a GE thing.
hey speedy , who else makes a skinny breaker besides the FPE? i can't seem to recall of any on else that does.i'm proabaly wrong, but rattle them off for me.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:04 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Not all GE load centers accept GE THQP 1/2 size breakers. Oddly enough, I just observed a GE LC that only accepts full size breakers with a CH BR twin installed in it.

Sorry, I just reread the "that will accept them" portion of your post. My bad.
yeap , i found that out the hard way , got a 30 space i belive & it only takes the 1 inch format.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:05 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitman View Post
hey speedy , who else makes a skinny breaker besides the FPE? i can't seem to recall of any on else that does.i'm proabaly wrong, but rattle them off for me.
btw, i mean just the 1/2 ones.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:37 PM   #22
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitman View Post
btw, i mean just the 1/2 ones.
But that's not what I said, is it?
I said "1/2/twin/skinny/tandem". By this I mean two breakers in a typical 1" space.

For an actual 1/2" breaker I think FPE and GE are the only ones.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 04:58 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
But that's not what I said, is it?
I said "1/2/twin/skinny/tandem". By this I mean two breakers in a typical 1" space.

For an actual 1/2" breaker I think FPE and GE are the only ones.
he speedy , wasn't trying to contradict you, just making the point that there were only 2 real 1/2 breakers , & the piece of junk FPE is all but history.i agree with you on the tandem & twins, i always call the 1/2 skinny.

circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D load center QO20M100 LAA2of3 Electrical 32 01-09-2013 06:46 PM
Load center & grounding recommendations lesp Electrical 9 04-16-2011 12:14 AM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 08:48 PM
CH42B200R Load Center for Detached Home Theater nomad4137 Electrical 6 07-21-2008 07:57 PM
Main Load center Size Evnldr Electrical 11 06-13-2008 11:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.