Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 12:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Load center for residential.


What is the best brand of load center for a residential home? And is Home depot a reliable source for load centers?

Sunofafrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 05:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richfield, MN
Posts: 64
Default

Load center for residential.


Asking which is best is like asking which make of truck is best, everyone will have their own opinion. As far as Home Depot goes, ask them what experience they have in the electrical trade. Some actually have experience, and some have no clue.

Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 06:34 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,021
Default

Load center for residential.


My house has a Square D panel, same as my garage. It really depends on what your electrician uses when he rewires the home with the new panel, meter pan & rain head, and runs a new drop if needed.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Load center for residential.


For residential use there is really not a bad brand out there right now. More than anything the panel layout is the deciding factor.
Sq D QO has great breakers for example, but I absolutely HATE the neutral/ground bar layout, which is why I only use them if necessary.

Sq D QO and Cutler-Hammer CH series are considered more top-of-the-line, but in real world experience I have not seen any appreciable difference across most major brands.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (11-08-2013), SD515 (07-31-2011)
Old 07-31-2011, 07:24 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Load center for residential.


For the most part, I like the layout of the Siemens panel too. QO's are nice, but pricey. They all seem to have their good and not so good points. FWIW my house has a Square D Homeline.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 08:15 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Load center for residential.


homeline of the oringial squard d..i know the reg sq d coast more...but are they really better? tks
richard444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:59 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Load center for residential.


copper BUS BAR .... i preffer Siemens the P series ..cause of the way all the bars are laid out ...not the ones that come in the contractor kits ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:44 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
copper BUS BAR ....
I see this stated all the time. I've been in the trade 17 years now, and I don't think I've ever installed a panel with a copper buss. If a copper buss made that much difference, you would think that they would be much more popular.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:05 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I see this stated all the time. I've been in the trade 17 years now, and I don't think I've ever installed a panel with a copper buss. If a copper buss made that much difference, you would think that they would be much more popular.
Really? I have a typical Siemens panel in my house (that I put in to replace an FPE). The buss is solid copper, but not clad like QO or others.
I also from time to time get Cutler Hammer BR series panels with a solid copper buss for certain installations. My supply house stocks a few.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:44 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Load center for residential.


LOL even Home Depot has them .... look on the bottom shelf ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:49 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Load center for residential.


I'm telling ya, it must be a regional thing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-07-2013), stickboy1375 (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 05:39 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Load center for residential.


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Siemens-2...d#.Unwi_4U4m1A



LOL your right .. not in HD .. zip ..53704


but they do sell the 30 space ...



http://www.homedepot.com/p/Siemens-1...d#.UnwjiYU4m1A
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 12:42 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Default

Load center for residential.


i like sguare D the best, but have used the homeline. i have a GE panel in my shop which i like because i can use the 1/2 breakers in this one.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:39 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Load center for residential.


Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitman View Post
i have a GE panel in my shop which i like because i can use the 1/2 breakers in this one.
You can use 1/2/twin/skinny/tandem breakers in any panel that will accept them. It's not just a GE thing.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 06:08 AM   #15
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,069
Default

Load center for residential.


The specs on your panel will determine if it accepts tandem breakers or not....

For example, I have the SD panel...it's listed as a 200A 20/40...which means it has 20 spaces but I can put up to 40 ckts in it.

I tend to like to distribute a lot of my loads....so I have quite a few of the tandem breakers in mine. I just like being able to shut down part of one room and not half the house...


__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-09-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D load center QO20M100 LAA2of3 Electrical 32 01-09-2013 05:46 PM
Load center & grounding recommendations lesp Electrical 9 04-15-2011 11:14 PM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 07:48 PM
CH42B200R Load Center for Detached Home Theater nomad4137 Electrical 6 07-21-2008 06:57 PM
Main Load center Size Evnldr Electrical 11 06-13-2008 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.