Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 09:02 PM   #1
Mr. Handy
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Load Center For Barn


I have a barn that currently has a safety disconnect switch and I want to replace it with a load center.

The power for this barn comes from the utility pole...after the meter of course.

I believe the new load center should be a main breaker load center vs a main lug. Am I correct?

Wiring to the barn is overhead and is 2 hots and a neutral. Currently a ground wire and the neutral wire are connected to a ground rod next to the barn. Would this be proper moving forward with the new load center?

swiederin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 09:32 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Load Center For Barn


Quote:
I have a barn that currently has a safety disconnect switch and I want to replace it with a load center
.

Simple thing to do ...curious .. was the safety switch fused ?

Quote:
The power for this barn comes from the utility pole...after the meter of course.
The barn has it's own service ? No residence on the property? Is this property zoned agricultural ?

Quote:
I believe the new load center should be a main breaker load center vs a main lug. Am I correct?
Doesn't have to be .. most main lug panels have the option of having a backfed main installed anyways. I would recommend one for you but as a guide a main breaker 100 amp load center has around 20 to 24 circuits for single pole 120 volts. A 100 amp main lug will have 16 or less as a rule... so it depends on what you need to power and how many circuits you are going to need.


Quote:
Wiring to the barn is overhead and is 2 hots and a neutral. Currently a ground wire and the neutral wire are connected to a ground rod next to the barn. Would this be proper moving forward with the new load center
Not 100% sure what you mean but if your saying the neutral and ground are together in the safety switch ...then yes that is fine for 3 wire feeds.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 12:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Load Center For Barn


Stubbie, if the barn panel is a subpanel, or the "only" panel after the meter, doesn't it need a disconnect or a main breaker?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens Load Center Help - Bonding aquasport17 Electrical 4 10-24-2012 11:21 AM
Main load center grounding question. sgip2000 Electrical 18 10-03-2012 11:45 AM
Boxing In My Load Center? ddawg16 Building & Construction 5 08-22-2012 10:21 PM
Load center & grounding recommendations lesp Electrical 9 04-15-2011 11:14 PM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.