Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2009, 07:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


Hey all,

When demoing floor i discovered a live wire under floor joist / however it is caped / taped and not interfering with anything. The problem is that trying to find the source to disconect is difficult / it's a condo with three boxes and a jungle of wires that it could be tied too. I tried but had no luck.

I know it's not great but do you think i would be ok to look the other way on this and continue working?


Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-22-2009 at 07:19 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:32 AM   #2
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Live wire?


If you cant trace it back to its source then I would a least put it in a splice box with cover. you didn't say if it was.
but the thing that would bother me is code says all slices and boxes must be accessible. you might want to get an electrician in there to kill that wire. BOB.

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:37 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


yeah.. not in a box but, i would need to tear into the floor more in order to get to it and make that happen.

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-22-2009 at 07:42 AM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:42 AM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Live wire?


Turn breakers off one at a time until the power is not live on this wire. Then check what other devices are also off. Start with the closest one and check if any of these spliced wires are connected to this one. Disconnect at that junction.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 07:57 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


This will effect others in the condo as I believe it is tied to another box.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 08:43 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Live wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Oakland View Post
This will effect others in the condo as I believe it is tied to another box.
That inconvenience is worth it in the long run when trying to remove a potential fire hazard and solve a code violation.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 10:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Live wire?


If it's a single dead ended cable and it is capped and taped properly, leave it. Not code but not dangerous.

If it is a splice, do not leave it......please do not leave it.


I am begging you.....please.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 10:42 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


It is a single line but i am curious...

If it was a splice why is that more of an issue?

Thanks.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:21 AM   #9
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Live wire?


Splices could go bad! and if that does happen there would be one hell of a time trying to locate it. BOB.
plus its against code. all splice boxes must be accessible.
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 11:59 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


so... ummm..

Guess what i found now!!

yep.. (OLD) buried box / again caped taped and covered but unfortunately spliced and not accessible. I turned off my power with no effect so it appears to be apart of the 2nd floor apartment under me. Not sure what to do as it's not even my wiring and I can not build accesibility to it in my floors!? I dont think the guy on the 2nd floor will be willing to tear out he's old wiring.

Last edited by Casey_Oakland; 02-22-2009 at 12:53 PM.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 01:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Live wire?


He needs to install a box & put a cover on to make the splice accessible
Or replace the wiring
Is your work being inspected?
Or are you just redoing the floor - no electrical?

I wouldn't leave it - that's a possible problem down the road
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 01:57 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Live wire?


the splice is in a box / caped / taped and covered / just not accessible.

No inspector / just the floors here.

Is this a judgment call? As far as i can tell this has been like this for a very long time.
Casey_Oakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 02:03 PM   #13
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Live wire?


If it is the guy downstairs' wiring, I'd let him know what you found, then I'd lay my floor and let him worry about it.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 02:08 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Live wire?


I'd let him know
Maybe measure where it is so it can be located easily
I'm not sure on code on this since it isn't your wiring

If I lived downstairs I'd want to fix it
But probably many people would not want to fix something that isn't "broken"

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Live wire hanging from basement ceiling yummy mummy Electrical 30 12-04-2007 10:43 AM
What color wire is live? poggs Electrical 2 03-08-2005 05:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.